Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This recipe is awesome! Such great flavor! Only complaint is that it only made around 3 sevings. Next time I will double the recipe as I like to have extra and freeze individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I made some changes to the original recipe, varying only slightly. I substituted shredded butternut squash in place of the carrot, and I curried my lentils before adding them with the broth. The curried flavor really carried over well through out the simmering, and the texture was really nice when I used an immersion blender on the whole soup to get everything blended very fine. Overall, I prefer to blend everything rather than leave parts of it chunky. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good recipe. I made it twice. The second time I doubled the lemon and added 2 cloves of raw minced garlic to the soup right before I pureed it. The garlic and extra lemon give it a nice kick! Also, I like putting a little sour cream on top of each bowl of soup, instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't really like lentil soup until now. I didn't have tomato paste but it was still outstanding without it. What a wonderful healthy & economical soup to serve with some crusty whole grain bread & salad. Love it and will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used a pressure cooker. I am an Indian, I can vouch for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I love the flavor of the soup. It's quite filling and a wonderful comfot food on a cold autumn evening. I use the immersion blender and I think it over-purees it. But I haven't tried it any other way...I keep doing it the same. I also freeze it in individual servings so that I can carry it to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This soup takes the cake! It's awesome, and I am not a huge lentil fan! I'm a vegetarian, so I replaced the chicken broth with vegetable broth which worked out well. Also, I didn't have any tomato paste on hand, so I just used a little ketchup in it's place. Turned out beautifully! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollibomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
The best lentil soup I have ever eaten--definitely restaurant-quality. I added 2 large potatoes and 3 stalks of celery. My six year old who will not eat onion or celery scarfed this up. When I told her what was in it, she said that she was mistaken, she does like onions and celery after all. In answer to one reviewer, yes you can make this with the green lentils. The lentil is versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good, very easy. I'm not big on cumin, but it was good in this. I forgot to put the cilantro in, didn't miss it. The olive oil and freshly squeezed lemon juice really perked up the flavor nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it is a winner! It is really delicious and easy. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States