Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
We had this soup for dinner one night this week and loved it. The ingredients play very well together. We served it with homemade breadsticks. Thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I love the flavor of the soup. It's quite filling and a wonderful comfot food on a cold autumn evening. I use the immersion blender and I think it over-purees it. But I haven't tried it any other way...I keep doing it the same. I also freeze it in individual servings so that I can carry it to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very nice. Cooked too hot though and so need to add more liquid next time. Also forgot the lemon and cilantro first time I ate it and it tasted fine still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I made some changes to the original recipe, varying only slightly. I substituted shredded butternut squash in place of the carrot, and I curried my lentils before adding them with the broth. The curried flavor really carried over well through out the simmering, and the texture was really nice when I used an immersion blender on the whole soup to get everything blended very fine. Overall, I prefer to blend everything rather than leave parts of it chunky. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This soup is the best! My family loves soup. What a wonderful, healthy soup to make! I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
delicious, healthy, filling, and simple to make. I ate the leftovers mixed with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mewantfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't really like lentil soup until now. I didn't have tomato paste but it was still outstanding without it. What a wonderful healthy & economical soup to serve with some crusty whole grain bread & salad. Love it and will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This has become a favorite=) And it was very easy to make! The only thing I did differently was add more garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I didn't have the patience to blend this but I did make it with all the seasonings and additions in the orignal recipe. I let it simmer for 30 minutes (as suggested) and it was wonderful. My husband and I finished the pot before the end of the night! This blends together just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I had some lentils to use up, and I was reminiscing about a yummy Greek lentil soup I had at a restaurant. I found this recipe and it sounded similar. I was thrilled! I pureed most of it, and served it with warm pitas. So healthy, filling, and economical. The only substitutions I made were chicken bouillon for the broth, and I omitted the tomato paste (didn't have any). I have also frozen individual portions for later enjoyment. Thank you for the great recipe. I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States