Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I love the flavor of the soup. It's quite filling and a wonderful comfot food on a cold autumn evening. I use the immersion blender and I think it over-purees it. But I haven't tried it any other way...I keep doing it the same. I also freeze it in individual servings so that I can carry it to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I made some changes to the original recipe, varying only slightly. I substituted shredded butternut squash in place of the carrot, and I curried my lentils before adding them with the broth. The curried flavor really carried over well through out the simmering, and the texture was really nice when I used an immersion blender on the whole soup to get everything blended very fine. Overall, I prefer to blend everything rather than leave parts of it chunky. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
delicious, healthy, filling, and simple to make. I ate the leftovers mixed with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mewantfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't really like lentil soup until now. I didn't have tomato paste but it was still outstanding without it. What a wonderful healthy & economical soup to serve with some crusty whole grain bread & salad. Love it and will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I had some lentils to use up, and I was reminiscing about a yummy Greek lentil soup I had at a restaurant. I found this recipe and it sounded similar. I was thrilled! I pureed most of it, and served it with warm pitas. So healthy, filling, and economical. The only substitutions I made were chicken bouillon for the broth, and I omitted the tomato paste (didn't have any). I have also frozen individual portions for later enjoyment. Thank you for the great recipe. I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
We had this soup for dinner one night this week and loved it. The ingredients play very well together. We served it with homemade breadsticks. Thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This has become a favorite=) And it was very easy to make! The only thing I did differently was add more garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I didn't have the patience to blend this but I did make it with all the seasonings and additions in the orignal recipe. I let it simmer for 30 minutes (as suggested) and it was wonderful. My husband and I finished the pot before the end of the night! This blends together just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very nice. Cooked too hot though and so need to add more liquid next time. Also forgot the lemon and cilantro first time I ate it and it tasted fine still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This soup is the best! My family loves soup. What a wonderful, healthy soup to make! I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States