Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
As far as lentil soups go, this was Wow! Much better than expected. Definitely add lemon juice, cilantro and sour cream instead of oil, as another reviewer suggested. It tasted rich, flavourful, and was hearty. I might up the chili a bit next time. I added an extra garlic clove and used Epicure no salt chicken bouillon, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Love this! This is the first time I have tried cooking lentils and I really loved this recipe. I am making it again today. I added all of the ingredients to my slow cooker and cooked it that way. I did not need to blend any of the lentils. I think cooking it in the slow cooker made it thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very good! As usual I added way more garlic and a bit more cumin to my taste but even as stated it's quite good. I wish the rest of my family felt the same way so I could make it more, the don't love lentils as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
WOW. My kids even ate this and I have one picky eater, in particular, who ate it! I think the lemon is the key ingredient. Made it exactly as written. Pureed more than half. Whoa...make sure you have a dish cloth to hold the lid down while pureeing. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I was uncertain of this recipe since the ingredients aren't powerhouses of flavor, but, wow, it turned out fantastic. I like my soups chunky so I didn't puree it and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I used dried lentils, and naturally they boilded over, and then I thought the soup looked to thin, but I think the biggest problem I had with this soup was when I tasted it: it was so fabulous I wanted to eat the entire pot. Next time I think I will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. It is so great and is easy to make. I double the recipe and skip the blender and pureeing. I serve the lentils over rice and it makes a great, healthy, and filling meal. My boyfriend also loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is really good and I am not normally a fan of lentil soup. My husband also loved it as did our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I just love this recipe! I have never cooked with lentils before this! I did not have carrots, but it was still wonderful! I am making my grocery list and plan to make it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good, paired with naan. I made a double batch but didn't have two onions so I rehydrated some dried onions. Turned out fine. Don't skip the lemon and cilantro! They really make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States