Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this recipe and LOVED IT. It is just the right balance of flavor and such a healthy meal. I used homemade chicken stock...and then followed the recipe adjusting the flavor a little to taste for chili powder and cumin. I highly recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I've made this, but always veer off the proper recipe, and add curry. It's suprisingly quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was great! I've made it twice now. The first time I accidentally used a whole can of tomato paste, I happened to be doubling the recipe. It was still really good, although I couldn't taste the lemon. The second time I made it as is and liked it even more! No need to blend any of it, it gets so soft anyway. I made it for friends and they thought it was great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I thought this was good lentil soup. So super easy to make and with stuff I normally have in the house, for the most part. It all fit in a 3" lidded pot, making clean-up easy too. I followed the recipe exactly, just with the spices I did one pinch of them all and 2 pinches of cumin. I find most spices to be in over-powering amounts in many recipes. I also used a combination of no-sodium vegetable and chicken boullion powder, I had left, to make the broth. It didn't seem to be lacking salt. It does only make 4 servings, as suggested, but is fine for lunch or a quick last minute supper with bread or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
It is very tasty and easy receipe - highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
As far as lentil soups go, this was Wow! Much better than expected. Definitely add lemon juice, cilantro and sour cream instead of oil, as another reviewer suggested. It tasted rich, flavourful, and was hearty. I might up the chili a bit next time. I added an extra garlic clove and used Epicure no salt chicken bouillon, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Love this! This is the first time I have tried cooking lentils and I really loved this recipe. I am making it again today. I added all of the ingredients to my slow cooker and cooked it that way. I did not need to blend any of the lentils. I think cooking it in the slow cooker made it thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very good! As usual I added way more garlic and a bit more cumin to my taste but even as stated it's quite good. I wish the rest of my family felt the same way so I could make it more, the don't love lentils as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
WOW. My kids even ate this and I have one picky eater, in particular, who ate it! I think the lemon is the key ingredient. Made it exactly as written. Pureed more than half. Whoa...make sure you have a dish cloth to hold the lid down while pureeing. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I was uncertain of this recipe since the ingredients aren't powerhouses of flavor, but, wow, it turned out fantastic. I like my soups chunky so I didn't puree it and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States