Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this soup twice. The first time with brown lentils because that's what I had. The second time with red lentils. It was great either way. I now double the recipe because we like it so much. It's my new go-to lentil soup recipe; so happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Perfect soup! I followed the recipe using chicken broth and brown lentils instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I just made it and I love it! Doubled the recipe mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
ITS THE LEMON!!! I've been making lentil soup for years, but this one takes the cake!!! I took another reviewers advice for ketchup in lieu of tomatoe paste, used both chicken broth and vegetable broth, with good results. Have made it several times now, using a variety of leftovers (mini-potatoes, leftover squash, tomatoes, chopped carrots, brocolli, etc), with excellent results. Have increased liquid, not bothered blending...its all good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this recipe and LOVED IT. It is just the right balance of flavor and such a healthy meal. I used homemade chicken stock...and then followed the recipe adjusting the flavor a little to taste for chili powder and cumin. I highly recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I've made this, but always veer off the proper recipe, and add curry. It's suprisingly quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was great! I've made it twice now. The first time I accidentally used a whole can of tomato paste, I happened to be doubling the recipe. It was still really good, although I couldn't taste the lemon. The second time I made it as is and liked it even more! No need to blend any of it, it gets so soft anyway. I made it for friends and they thought it was great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I thought this was good lentil soup. So super easy to make and with stuff I normally have in the house, for the most part. It all fit in a 3" lidded pot, making clean-up easy too. I followed the recipe exactly, just with the spices I did one pinch of them all and 2 pinches of cumin. I find most spices to be in over-powering amounts in many recipes. I also used a combination of no-sodium vegetable and chicken boullion powder, I had left, to make the broth. It didn't seem to be lacking salt. It does only make 4 servings, as suggested, but is fine for lunch or a quick last minute supper with bread or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
It is very tasty and easy receipe - highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
As far as lentil soups go, this was Wow! Much better than expected. Definitely add lemon juice, cilantro and sour cream instead of oil, as another reviewer suggested. It tasted rich, flavourful, and was hearty. I might up the chili a bit next time. I added an extra garlic clove and used Epicure no salt chicken bouillon, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States