Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was SO good! I added the following: extra cloves of garlic, some curry powder instead of cumin, turmeric powder, and a dash of nutmeg. I also increased the lemon. I increased overall amount by adding one pound of lentils with two 32 oz cartons of broth plus one 12 oz can of broth. Next time I will cook the rice separately and add at the end as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was wonderful. I've enjoyed so many recipes from this site, and this is the first one I've reviewed. I doubled the recipe and added six stalks of celery. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
So easy and delicious. Tip: if you love fresh cilantro but never seem to use a fresh bunch before it goes bad, just freeze it! It's perfect for this recipe and keeps its full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My first time cooking lentils. This recipe is a great starting-off point. We don't buy chicken stock, just use Better than Buillion and adjust the salt. I doubled everything except the onion and added celery, kale and fresh ginger. I had a "curry spice" from Trader Joe's, which had cumin, ginger, nutmeg, onion, garlic and chili - I put about a tsp of that, also. I messed with it, added more water, kept tasting, kept messing with it, and the soup adjusted amazingly. I added a tsp or two of sea salt towards the end, with more spices in a bit of water. This recipe is pretty hard to mess up. The lentils cooked down to pretty much mush by the time it finished absorbing the water (as in, the leftovers), but it's just as amazing regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My wife and I both loved this. I used brown lentils as but everything else was per instructions. Wonderful subtle lemon flavor. Not super spicy, but easily restaurant quality. Will make again with red lentils (from local Indian Food market) and see if it is much different. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Galvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I like this. Used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth because we're vegetarian. To make the broth more like chicken broth, I added two tablespoons nutritional yeast. Despite the cumin and chili powder this doesn't taste like a Mexican dish. This was even better the next day. My picky 4 year old really loved it and he barely eats anything that isn't chicken ;). I didn't puree any of it, and it was great anyway. The lemon really adds to the flavor and you don't really need the cilantro, though I'd imagine it would be great with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Nunley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this soup twice. The first time with brown lentils because that's what I had. The second time with red lentils. It was great either way. I now double the recipe because we like it so much. It's my new go-to lentil soup recipe; so happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Perfect soup! I followed the recipe using chicken broth and brown lentils instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I just made it and I love it! Doubled the recipe mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States