Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious! I used vegetable bullion and it was very salty so you may want to wait to salt this until the end. Otherwise I thought it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Oh, and I used green lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
the lemon and cilantro just take this soup over the top - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Double from tomato paste to carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Easy and delicious! I didn't have tomato paste as my pantry needs some restocking, so I used some pureed roasted red peppers which was a delicious substitute! Otherwise I made as directed, blended with an immersion blender. I'll definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have made many a lentil soup in varying styles and this one is for sure a winner. I made the recipe exactly as stated and it was excellent. Similar in style to Mark Bittman's lemony lentil soup in kitchen express but more rich in flavor. This recipe takes a bit longer but still super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing!!! My picky 14 who would rather die than eat a bean devoured it! Even claimed it for her thermos next day for school lunch! Huge hit!! We even skipped the cilantro part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have made this several times now and it is excellent - unusual and refreshing, yet still filling. The only change I make is adding a little extra lemon juice and omitting the drizzle of olive oil when serving. A little shredded lemon zest on top when serving looks great. Now I always make double amounts and it freezes well - although it is usually eaten up by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe did not turn out how I thought it would. With that said it was wonderful. As other reviewers mentioned the consistency was closer to a hummus rather than a soup. I did use brown lentils instead of red lentils. Maybe that changed the consistency. My husband thought it tasted similar to the lentil dish that is served at an Ethiopian restaurant we eat at. My husband thought it turned out great despite the consistency. Definitely serve with some sort of bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I didn't have tomato paste, and I skipped the blender step. This soup was heavenly. It was very simple to prepare and was ready to eat in 45 minutes. I made it two servings by cutting the lentils to 1/2 cup, still in 4 cups of liquid. One serving came out to 179 calories, with 11.6 g protein and 12.6 g fiber. I am extremely impressed with this one! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious. Used dried cilantro toward the beginning rather than fresh at the end, "better than bouillon" vegetarian "chicken" broth, and a bit more cumin and chile powder and water. Forgot to purée and add the lemon and we scarfed it down before realizing it - then, for the small bit left I did so and couldn't believe it got even better! Doesn't make enough - will definitely make again and double or triple it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States