Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made a few alterations to this basic recipe and the result was the most amazing, hearty, homemade lentil soup I have ever had. I used 4 cloves of garlic sauteed with the onion and 2 bay leaves for 5 minutes. Then I added all the other ingredients, plus a generous shake of parsley and paprika. I also added 1 chopped fresh tomato and cut spinach (stems removed). I had to add extra liquid to compensante for how much liquid the lentils absorbed. The cumin is what absolutely makes this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This soup is SO good and SO easy! I just made it and can't wait to dig in. Here's what I did a little differently from the recipe thanks to the suggestions of my fellow reviewers: I used 3 cloves of garlic (never too much!). I thinly sliced 3 carrots and added them. I used the entire 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I dumped in a bunch of garlic powder. I sauteed the garlic and onions together for just a few minutes before I added everything else. I simmered the soup for 45 minutes, and it made it nice and thick. This recipe is a total keeper. I plan on keeping the ingredients around all the time. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is a delicious and simple soup! My friend Katy cooked this up for me after work on a Friday evening. I always think of soups as taking hours to cook on the stove, but not true! This ready in a snap. She used whole cumin which I ground with mortar and pistle and also added carrots which I thought was a necessary touch for color as well as character. But the flavor was plentiful and the ease was astounding. Served with thick slices of rustic bread and hard cheeses on the side, this is a delite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Like others, I made a few additions - a whole can of paste, sliced carrots, doubled garlic, doubled cumin, 3-4 pinches each of dried cilantro and curry powder. Didn't saute anything first, just threw it all in the pot. SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD. Thank you for this amazingly easy and healthy recipe! I'm going to make this all the time. (By the way, the additional tomato paste also adds more color to the soup so it's not as drab-looking, if you care about that sort of thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
very bland and I wound up throwing ot out. No one seemed to like it at my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Taking hints from other reviews, I snazzed up the seasonings, and got a hit! When my teenagers will eat a hearty healthy soup like this one, and ask for seconds, we have success. I sauteed the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, and two bay leaves in olive oil, then added the rest of the ingredients, including two chicken bullion cubes, since I keep my homemade stock on the plain side. I salted and peppered throughout the cooking process, as needed, and even added a dash or two of garlic powder at the end. I think one must look at this as a soup that one must season to taste. We love it! I served it with Italian bread bowls, from this site; YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Instead of the tomato paste, I made it with a cup of spaghetti sauce and added chopped celery, and 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt. My husband loved it, so did I!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Lentil is the easiest bean soup to make and this is one I will continue to make! I sauteed some bacon and removed leaving the grease to saute the onion, carrot(added) and garlic. I added the remaining ingrediants along with some tumeric. After 35 minutes I used the boat motor to puree. Stirred in some chopped spinach. Topped with sour cream, bacon pieces and chives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNERIE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
very yummy and ridiculously easy! I added the whole little can of tomato paste, so I don't know if that's a 1/4 cup. I also simmered it down to a stew-like consistency (about an hour more on way LOW). Excellent served in bread bowls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Great quick and easy soup, I made it in 5 minutes. I started a diet today and thought it would be a nutritious and good. I am Greek and we have a family lentil soup that we sprinkle red wine vinegar on, very good also. The lentils tend to discolor after I put them in the frig, any suggestions? mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States