Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good soup recipe although i made a few adjustments...i diced up some celery and carrots in addition to the onions and garlic and sauteed those before adding the broth an lentils...i added some black pepper and paprika, and used petite diced tomatoes instead of the paste for a heartier feel. Cookers beware: the lentils took about 1.5 hours to really soften as opposed to the 30 minutes stated in the cook time. At 30 minutes my beans were pretty crispy still. Very very good soup in the end though...and i think it will be even better tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Huffman Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Came out pretty good. Only thing I did different was add some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was really delicious and hearty. I followed the directions exactly, and it had a good body, great flavor, and so easy. I will keep this on hand for a good way to use up lentils, and a great way to throw a soup together with virtually no chopping (just the onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Loved it! Only changes were more garlic and I added carrots for some extra chunkiness. Will probably add some tomatoes or other veggies next time just because we like them. Otherwise, great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Like others I changed the following and it was perfect. I doubled the garlic then sautéed with onion and bay leaf in olive oil. I used a whole 6oz can of tomato paste and added a can of diced tomato (mexican seasoned). I also added a couple dashes of garlic powder, paprika and parsley. Finally I added 2 cups of fresh chopped spinach. Soup looks fantastic and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Awesome! I never use exact directions so I just added everything to taste, using some tomato sauce i had frozen, and a curry spice mix I made a couple days ago in place of just cumin. I made it three times in two days (lack of groceries) and it was delicious every time. Once I even added a tablespoon or so of cream and it gave it a richer feel and lighter color. Very tasty, easy to adjust, healthy, and so cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup is soooo good! I added some extra garlic, carrots, and one bunch of fresh spinach at the end. Very filling, healthy, and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is completely amazing. I added carrots because the picture sure looks like they are in there. It hit the spot!! I will definitely be making this many times this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I am looking for a better recipe, I honestly didn't like this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States