Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
YUM! Just threw all the ingredients into a pot! No changes to the recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo Clean Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was a decent base lentil soup but doesn't have much flavor. If I knew what to add to give it more flavor, it would be a great start, but as is, left me looking for more. I will not make this again, but will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I really wanted to like this, as I have tried many lentil soups off here. This was bland and no one would eat it. I am now tryting to figure out how to save this big pot of soup. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was a somewhat yummy soup, but not that nice to look at. I know it shouldn't matter, but the consistency was a little mucky and the lack of color/presentation made this dish less desirable to cook and serve than other lentil soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Easy soup to make. I halved it by using just 1 cup lentils, 4 cups chicken broth, only half an onion, and small can of tomato paste. Also added large can of mixed vegetables (carrots, celery, potatoes, corn, and green beans). I think the vegetables really made the soup. Just added a little salt and pepper for spices. I'm sure I'll be making this again, especially during the winter months. It's very low cost and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
easy, quick and super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is fantastic! I make it once or twice a week on average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I didn't care for this. I enjoy cumin, but not in this soup. Besides the cumin flavor, this was bland. Also, if you don't cook the lentils about 10 minutes in water before adding to this or any recipe that has salt or tomatoes, the beans remain undercooked unless you cook them all day in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabster
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very easy very good! I put some EVOO in first and sauteed onion, 4 cloves of garlic, carrots, celery and a bay leaf as suggested. I then added the lentils and the chicken broth, 1 whole can of tomato puree, frozen peas, cumin and a little salt and pepper. I think it cooked for longer than 45 min...1 hr. maybe. Garnished with queso fresco and cilantro YUM. Even my son who doesn't like lentils said they were good! Thanks Molly for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I really wanted to like this because it was so easy to make and pretty nutritious. However, it was really bland. I did add carrots and extra tomato paste as other recommended, but it was still lacking. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States