Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great base recipe! I added some garlic to the onions as I sautéed them, and added a couple of handfuls of chopped carrots to the soup. Also used beef bullion instead of broth, as that's what I had on hand. Stirred in tomato sauce in last 10 minutes of cooking. Very flavorful--doesn't even really need salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Very good. I modified as per some of the other reviews by cooking lentils first and then adding onion, garlic, a whole can tomato sauce - increased the Italian seasoning accordingly - and added diced carrots and spinach. I rarely ever make lentils but that will change now that I found this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Different than most lentil recipes in that it uses beef broth. It adds a different layer of flavor that we liked. Also, changed tomato sauce to 8 ounces. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good! Added garlic in the beginning and frozen spinach at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent lentil soup. I have been looking for a healthy soup like this. I tweaked it like some reviewers did by adding chili powder and cumin to taste. I think next time I will add a can of diced tomatoes instead of the sauce. Great winter soup with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This would be tasty as is, but is also good with these modifications: I added garlic and italian sausage, and used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. One time we also added mushrooms, and that was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Five star because i used this as a base basically for making up a lentil soup recipe. I've never had lentil soup before, and I was very pleased with how it turned out. I would rate it in the top 5 soup recipes I've ever had. I did revise it to suit my own tastes. Also, I guessed at the measurements. i changed the beef broth to a half a packet of Ramen Noodle Soup's packet of seasoning that it comes with, mixed with water, and completely omitted the tomato sauce and italian seasoning. i then used some suggestions i found on here. cumin, bacon, garlic cloves, red potatoes, and after it was all simmered and done, i added some milk and some sour cream and served it with mozzerella cheese and corn tortilla chips. very very delicious. I will make this again and again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've made this 4 times already... I had to cut back on the broth because it ended up being too salty, but I love it. It's SO quick and easy and I almost always have the ingredients. It stores well in the fridge and is perfect on rainy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I omitted the tomato sauce and added garlic, celery, carrots, a potato and a leek. Hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've made this a few times. It needs tweaking; as it stands the flavor is just barely passable for me. Making a few changes regarding seasoning and adding more veggies (turning this into a Mexican inspired soup) and serving with quesadillas or tortilla chips is delicious. My picture will show brown lentils, pureed; the picture up currently appears to show red lentils, pureed. Let me stress that my 3-star rating does NOT indicate a bad recipe: it indicates a very nicely written, easy recipe with a short list of ingredients that bends itself easily to your tweak and changes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States