Lentil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made it for the first time today and as others have mentioned did have to add more water, also being Mexican I just had to make it a bit more spicy :) so in go 2 whole serranos with just a couple slits on them to release the warmth. My 7 yr old granddaughter had 2 bowls and son thought it was a great comfort food before heading out in this storm to go to work. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I liked the idea behind it but I did make several changes to suit my tastes. First of all, I prefer red lentils and only used them because I don't like the looks of brown lentils, so I put in 1 cup of red lentils. I started boiling the red lentils with the seasonings right away, minus the cloves and pepper. I then cut up 5 carrots because I didn't have any celery on hand. I also cut up a small onion. When I cut up the potatoe I made very small pieces. and added them and didn't bother mashing them. I added all of the root vegetables to the red lentil pot and let them boil for 45 minutes. And then because we like things a little creamier in our house, I heated up 1/4 cup milk, 2 TBSP margarine, melted them together and then added 1/8 c of flour and mixed it all together to make a little white gravy. I poured that into the pot when all of the vegetables were soft, about 25 minutes. It just made it a little creamier. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this today. It is easy and tastes really good. I liked it with a whole large onion chopped and I did add 3-4 cups more water, but did so after adding carrots, onions, celery and the mashed potatoes. BTW, I cooked the potatoes in a separate pan and mashed them in that pan, then added them. I found the directions strange on this aspect. Also, the onions are left out of the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made a mistake and used ground cloves ( 3/4 teaspoon) and left it in. I loved it. Thank you William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked the concept, but mine turned out very thick, like mashed potatoes with some lentils thrown in. Also, the color was not very appetizing, kind of a greyish-brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Like other reviewers, I loved this recipe but since I changed it, I only gave it 4 stars. This recipe can be simplified quite a bit by just throwing all of the ingredients in at the beginning. I cut the potatoes in bite size pieces and didn't mash them. I didn't have any celery, so I just added a bit more carrot and some dried onion flakes. And since I only had 1 T. of chicken bouillon so I added some garlic powder. Oh, and I used about 6 cups of water. Brought it to a boil, then simmered uncovered for about 25-30 minutes. I served it with some freshly baked multigrain bread. Reminded me of stew. Loved the addition of the clove flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! As a college student, I don't have much time to cook. The flavors blended together perfectly. I used 8 total cups of water. 4 cups were broth and 4 cups were water. I also added some curry and garlic for extra flavor. Was very filling and I'm so excited to have leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Love it! I add more carrots and more potatoes but it is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good soup. Right, onions aren't on the ingredient list but in the directions. That's okay, think we figure it out just fine. I doubled up on the carrots and celery, because we like them. I only had brown lentils. I did not have cloves. Curious about what flavor that would add. I did need to add water, 10 cups total. My only question was if I was to cover the pot? I did for a while and then took the lid off in the end. Yes, I would make it again. Love that it is low in calories, cholesterol and fat! Thank you William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The recipe left out the ingredient of onion and mentioned it in the instructions. I added half of a chopped onion. I did need more water as others stated. The combination of the mashed potatoes with the lentils made this a very thick soup, so it would be up to your own preference as to how thick you want it. Also, I felt I should've cooked the potatoes separately because my lentils were already done cooking by the time the potatoes were tender. I left out the salt. You might want to taste test when adding the chicken bullion and add gradually. Overall, it was a decent and thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States