Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Mother in law approved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a really, really delicious soup! I made a couple of changes to the recipe...1 1/2 cups of lentils seemed like a lot, and I only had about 3/4 cup to 1 cup, so I just used all that I had. It probably could have used more, so next time I make this, I'm going to try about 1 1/4 cups of lentils. I also skipped the soaking part, but cooked the lentils in the broth and vegetable mixture for about 10 minutes before adding the tomatoes, because the acid in the tomatoes slows the cooking of the lentils, and I don't care for hard lentils in my soup. I also skipped the wine in the recipe, and used another 3/4 cup of chicken broth instead. Other than that, I made the soup exactly as written, and was very pleased with the results. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a really good recipe. I've never made lentil soup - usually just eat the canned kind - and this was so much better. I changed a few things: added 2 tbsp lemon juice, 3 tbsp cilantro, and 2 tbsp tomato paste. I also used more garlic for my taste and added chili powder and cumin. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I think really much better the 2nd day as someone else stated. This time I used the immersion blender to roughtly puree and it was much better. It could use more cooking time, my lentils were still a little crunchy (also the celery) despite following instructions. Next time will cook longer. Otherwise good hearty winter night soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Wonderful - My vegetarian daughter loved it, as did the rest of us! I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really liked this lentil soup. I pretty much stuck to the recipe except I didn't have any wine and I used water and chicken base instead of broth. Lentils don't really need to soak so this recipe was pretty quick for me. I think I added more liquid than called for since it seemed thick at the end. I froze it in individual portions for quick and healthy lunches. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really liked this recipe, it's very easy to make and healthy! My 2-year old loved it. I added a bit of ground cumin to it to enhance the flavor. I will make this again for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook4fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delish! I added a half and potato and then blended the potato and about a cup of the lentil soup before adding it back to the pot to make it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
It's very similar to the way I make it but in the end I put it in a blender. It's definitely worth trying. Excellent on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OMG... this is the best soup I've ever made. I added some sausage and used homemade chicken broth. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States