Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is really tasty. I wanted some meat in the soup so I added 1 lb. of sweet Italian sausage. It turned out better than I expected. I'll certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I was inspired by a lentil soup that I recently had at a local restaurant that had a bit of a "bite" to it. I added one diced green bell pepper, 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper, 3/4 cup of barley and 3 cups of chicken stock (to account for the addition of barley). I did not soak the lentils (just washed and drained) and needed to simmer for more than two hours for the lentils to become tender. The end result was magnificent. I dare say every bit as good as what I'd had in the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
OMG! Just made this for dinner with a few modifications based on what I had in the pantry. this soup is DELICIOUS!! I had 2 leeks left from Christmas dinner, so I subbed them for regular onions. I didn;t have celery - just omitted it. My husband isn't happy with meatless dishes so i added some diced smoked ham left from New Years! Did a full teaspoon of smoked paprika and 2 cans of brown lentils, drained and rinsed. It was AWESOME! this recipe is a keeper - thanks Gabriella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Violet-Muir

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious!! Based off reviews, I added 2 cups lentils, 1 tsp. Cumin, 2 tsp. Paprika, 1 1/2 tsp. Coriander and extra garlic (4 cloves minced). I also used a can of diced tomatoes to make up the 3 1/2 cups crushed tomatoes. This soup is SAVORY! It tastes just as good as the lentil soup I buy freshly made at Whole Foods. Thank you, Gabriella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Was yummy on a cold night. Made the following modification due to taste and what I had available: doubled the garlic, added 2tsp paprika, 1tsp coriander, 1/2tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp cayanne pepper, skipped the wine since I didn't have any, and added some kale and shrimp since I had some to use up. Turned out very well. Also blended some of the soup at the end to thicken the broth but wish I hadn't because the soup went from a rich dark red color from the paprika to a less exiting brown color from the pureed lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
So easy to make and very hearty and filling. Took this to a soup exchange and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This soup is a great base. I used 1/2 can of tomatoes sauce and 1 diced tomato. The soup is very fresh but I like earthier soups so I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cumin and 1 1/2 teaspoons of coriander to balance. I also added about 1/2/ cup more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I ate it for a week till it was all gone... Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
A good base, but would be better with some fixing up. I hope to try adding ham the next time, and/or more paprika for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It's nothing more than a tomato-based vegetable soup with lentils in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachwomanfw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States