Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, except that I used cooking white wine instead of regular white wine, and I added about a 1/2 tsp. of chili powder and 1/2 tsp. of cumin. I agree with the other reviews that it tastes much better on the 2nd day. The fresh parsley and parmesan (I used plain grated Kraft kind) topped it off perfectly. Great taste and healthy too! Next time I might try it with real wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Excellent! We froze it and it reheats very well. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This was ok... it was my first time making any kin of Lentil Soup. I did like it, but I wished it would have had more flavor. I didn't add the wine and just added more chicken broth.. I think the recipe just needed a little more seasoning and flavor, even if you are including the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahLynne.Dunn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Deelish. I used red instead of white wine because I didn't have any white. I didn't soak the beans because my bag said I didn't have to, but it took forever to cook (at least 2 hours.) WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Definitely let this sit a day or two before eating and just plan it for a day other than the day it is cooked. The flavors blended and developed much better. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Added zucchini and used beer instead of wine - really good and the preschoolers ate it without any urging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Delicious! I added bacon and I used only 4 cups of chicken broth. I served over rice. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slgilde
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was my first attempt at making Lentil soup and it was a hit, even my fussy teenaged son enjoyed it. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used the entire bag of lentils which after soaking was about 4 -5 cups. I also added a couple of diced chicken sausages after the onions and eliminated the paprika because the sausages are loaded with spicy peppers. Added no extra salt as I thought there was plenty in the chicken stock & crushed tomatoes. I've added a picture and agree with the other reviews that stated this was even better the next day. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slgilde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and love it. It is easy to make a double batch and keep half in the freezer. Definitely freezes well. I have also discovered that if you are using store bought chicken stock (who has time to make their own??), it tastes better to use the unsalted kind. Otherwise, the soup tastes way to acidic. If you are using a higher sodium stock you would be safe to eliminate the salt called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States