Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Was yummy on a cold night. Made the following modification due to taste and what I had available: doubled the garlic, added 2tsp paprika, 1tsp coriander, 1/2tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp cayanne pepper, skipped the wine since I didn't have any, and added some kale and shrimp since I had some to use up. Turned out very well. Also blended some of the soup at the end to thicken the broth but wish I hadn't because the soup went from a rich dark red color from the paprika to a less exiting brown color from the pureed lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
So easy to make and very hearty and filling. Took this to a soup exchange and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This soup is a great base. I used 1/2 can of tomatoes sauce and 1 diced tomato. The soup is very fresh but I like earthier soups so I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cumin and 1 1/2 teaspoons of coriander to balance. I also added about 1/2/ cup more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I ate it for a week till it was all gone... Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
A good base, but would be better with some fixing up. I hope to try adding ham the next time, and/or more paprika for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It's nothing more than a tomato-based vegetable soup with lentils in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachwomanfw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was delicious. I ran out of tomatoes, so I didn't have the full 3 1/2 cups needed. I also added a LOT more Hungarian Paprika than 1/2 a teaspoon. I ended up freezing it in individual servings, which has worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've made this several times and I could eat it every day! Instead of chopping all the veggies, I use a mixed bag or two of frozen diced carrots, onion, and celery to save time. I've never used the wine because I never have any, so I just increase the broth (and omit the extra salt, which isn't necessary if you're using broth). About 10 minutes before it's done, I add 1/2 - 1 cup of quick cook barley to make it thicker and healthier. Also, I've added some diced hot peppers from our garden and it gives it a nice kick if you like spicy food. This is my forever recipe for lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Absolutely wonderful vegan fare! And much more filling that I expected. I'll be making this again when my vegetarian friends visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was phenomenal! Only change I made was that I didn't add the tomatoes or the wine until I was sure that the lentils were tender. I wasn't sure if lentils do what beans do and not become tender if exposed to the acids in tomatoes or wine so I wasn't taking any chances with crunchy lentils! This freezes really well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States