Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good. I thought it would need more lentils, so I used a whole bag. That made it a bit too thick, but was easy to thin out to right consistency by adding more low sodium chicken broth. I also threw in a couple of ham hocks for flavor. The next day, we had left over ham and I added that as well. Last tip - a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes adds a nice bite, if you likes things a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I really loved this recipe. I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I used 8 oz. tomato sauce and it worked great. The tomato flavor really adds a lot. I also added 1/2 pound cubed boneless ham. I put about 4 cups of the soup (before adding the ham) in my blender because I like the base to be creamy. Very flavorful! Gave the house a nice smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iron-mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Excellent New Years day dish and even better the next day. I added some crushed red pepper to give it a little bite and served it over cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was a good start for a lentil soup recipe, but it needed some doctoring to make it really good. However, when I was done with it my husband, who generally requires meat in every dish, was asking for seconds and raving about how good it was. Here's what I did: chopped up one onion and sautéed it. Substituted red wine for white, added chili powder, cumin, more paprika and salt. I also added sour cream. I would use less chicken stock next time so that it's less soupy and thicker. I also left out the parsley but put in about 5 bay leaves. It turned out really well and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lynn Trout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I had exactly 1 1/2 cups of green lentils left and decided to make this soup. When it was ready, I tasted it....and felt something was missing. I tried adding a bit more salt, pepper, a bit of cumin, and it began to taste better but something was STILL missing. It suddenly came to me - I added a 5 1/2 oz tin of tomato paste and let it cook a bit more. Aha! That was the flavor boost it needed! Good soup now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I loved this soup. It's a great dinner when you need a break from meat but still want something hearty. M girls did not like this, maybe it was the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing! I did soak the lentils. Thank you Gabriella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Loved this! I didn't bother with presoaking the lentils but simmered for about 2 hrs. I added extra chicken stock (& paprika) because I was sending it to my MIl who likes very brothy soups vs thick. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I increased the servings to 11 to use the whole pack of lentils (2cups). Also doubled the tomatoes and omitted the wine. Soup was delicious and a big hit with a group of teachers who had it for lunch. Served with crusty bread, parm cheese and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I changed proportions depending on what I had (less broth, more wine, no celery, and Rotel tomatoes with chili peppers.) very spicy but exceedingly yummy! It is a flexible recipe which is the best kind for the everyday cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States