Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. I didn't presoak my lentils at all. The only thing was that for me, this turned out like more of a stew than a soup. It could have been something I did though I followed the directions. It was still really good and awesome for my husbands diet. We did top it with frozen yogurt and green onions. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
After reading many reviews, I prepared this recipe today with some of the changes reviewers suggested and added a few of my own. I added 1 link (I only had one) of Cajun style Andouille sausage, 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes and 1 teaspoon of Turmeric. I also used red wine instead of white, left out the carrots, used 2(14.5) cans of stewed tomatoes, 1(14.5) can of petite diced tomatoes, and 1(8 oz.) can of tomato sauce. The finished soup had great taste, nice body, and a bit of a kick. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made this a couple of days ago and I think it's a good base recipe. I did make a lot of changes. I used more broth, one more rib of celery, balsamic vinegar and red wine instead of the white wine. I used only one bay leaf (it had a strong bay leaf taste, so I definitely wouldn't use two). I doubled the garlic, added a dash of cumin, a couple of tablespoons of hot sauce, and eliminated the carrots and parsley because I don't like them. I used a frozen pepper/onion blend instead of fresh onions and I didn't cook any of the vegetables first. I just put all the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook on high for about 5 hours and low for another 2. I didn't have to add any additional liquid because I like my soup thick. If you like a thinner soup, you might have to add more broth or water. I will say that if you don't like tomato based soups, you will NOT like this unless you make changes. The crushed tomatoes and bay leaf make it remind me of how spaghetti sauce tastes. The main reason it didn't get 5 stars is because it still seemed like it was missing something. Next time I will add some ground beef or stew meat and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This soup is so good. I didn't have the wine so I just added more broth and it still tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did add turkey italian sausage for more added flavor and I didn't have the canned tomatoes so I added a 1 fresh and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I read through the reviews and took some of the advice. I added the crushed tomatoes and wine at the end so that the lentils would cook without soaking first. I also didn't measure my lentils and just used an entire bag. As other reviewers mentioned, it is MUCH better the next day. We liked it the first day but LOVED it the second and third day. This recipe made it into permanent rotation here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love it! I didn't make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have made this lentil soup about 3 times now, and have made it exactly following the recipe and once added some curry flavouring to it, they were all delicious! Lovely on a cold winter's day with some good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Thanks! Made this receipe many times. Sometimes I add hot Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Tried this today and it came out awesome. My family loved it. I made one change and used half beef broth half chicken broth.Also added small pieces of beef franks. Luved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States