Lentil Salad with a Persian Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I've never been a big fan of lentils, but in heart of being healthier, am looking for healthier ideas. This recipe was very good. I used dry green lentil cooked to package specifications and I think I made too much but adjusted the ingredients to compensate. I added much more seasoning than listed (that is, tarragon, mint, and other Mediterranean spices) and also added seasoned rice wine vinegar in addition to the apple cider vinegar. I would make this salad frequently! Even my husband, who likes lentils less than I, liked this salad. I believe this recipe could be tweaked to any taste. I highly recommend trying this recipe, even if you don't think you like lentils. Like me, you might be surprised. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was SO GOOD!! If I'd had leftovers I would've eaten it for breakfast. I used cooked dried lentils and red wine vinegar and totally forgot to add oil, but I didn't miss it (and I like oil!) thinking I might add pita chips next time, like fattoush...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was really good. I drained off the excess dressing before I served it and added finely chopped mint (like other reviewers had suggested). The mint was a great additional and I will include it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent use of fresh cucumbers from my garden. Next time, I might add garbanzo beans and some kalamata olives to it for a little more flair. Nice summer salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I loved this refreshing salad!!! It was quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent! I have to admit to a couple of changes due to dietary requirements. I did not use canned lentils..I cooked my own to the tenderness I prefer and I used scallions instead of red onions. This is a perfect summer salad..great for picnics and suitable for a vegan or gluten free diet..I will make this again and again.. maybe trying different salad dressings each time.. I'm a bit adventuresome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I didn't have any mint available and ended up using cilantro, it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Scudder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
A very tasty salad. I LOVE persian food and I love lentils, so I was excited to try this combo. I went with NOOSH's suggestion to add fresh mint. I wasn't sure how much to add so at first I minced about 7-8 mint leaves. It gave just a slight hint of flavor (barely noticeable), so I added another 7-8 leaves and it was perfect! I highly recommend this addition. It gives the salad such a fresh flavor. I have a hard time getting hubby to eat any sort of salad, and with his first bite he said WOW, this is really good! The only change I made was to use way less red onion than called for. I ended up using about 1/4 onion, since most red onions are huge. Thanks for the recipe NOOSH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States