Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I am giving this recipe the 5 stars because although I tweaked it to meet my families particular tastes, we were all really happy with the end result. I am cooking for 3 non-dairy kids, 2 vegi. adults and three omnivores. And EVERYONE liked it. I followed some other reviewers advice: topped it with green onions for the last few minutes, added some extra veggies and was able to serve three generations of specialized eaters with no complaints. And that is a miracle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Pretty nice, but if you're using red lentils, don't cook them this long! Cooking them for 15 minutes will turn them into an orange-ish paste. 5-7 minutes of cook time in boiling water will usually suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was soooo tempted to add cheese to this final product, but resisted that urge to keep it healthier. Like others suggested, I used canned tomatoes. I also put in a whole mix of veggies - broccoli, carrots, zucchini, summer squash, green beans and the onion & canned tomatoes. Super simple & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Based on what other reviewers wrote, I increased the sauce and doubled the seasonings. It was very good and healthy - will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I left out the celery and added in some mushrooms, I also cooked the rice in vegetable stock instead of water. I am compiling a folder of easy vegetarian recipes for when my daughter goes to university in September. She has requested that this one definitely be included. Thankyou so much Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Made with left over spaghetti sauce and green bean because that is what I had on hand. It was good and I will make aging with a few changes. Next time I will add some pepper, also think it would be good with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Really good. I've made it a few times. Once we didn't have red lentils, so I used brown. Still good, but the consistency isn't as smooth. Since we're not vegan, I used chicken broth for the rice and lentils instead of water. Also added crumbled, browned sausage to the casserole. Good with brown rice, too! Very tasty combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Cooking this was a lot of fun, it smelled so delicious. I added a cup of mushrooms as well. I also made my own tomato sauce so it had all the flavors I love in it. I would recommend more sauce as well. It smelled great when cooking the vegetables, but after baking it all together it kind of lost some of the original intensity I thought it would have. Despite this it was delicious and healthy and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really nice! I didn't have the vegetables mentioned in the recipe because I've been running low, so I just used some frozen mixed vegetables in the freezer and this still turned out so well! Instead of one tomato and the tomato sauce, I just used one whole can of chopped tomatoes - half cooked with the vegetables and half on top. I also added some cheese inside and on top. It was gooo-oood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I'm giving this 3 stars not because it is bad, but because it is not anything special. Tasty enough really, just nothing I oooh-ed and aaah-ed about while eating it. I really liked the lentils and zucchini in there. Even the celery. But you know it's not the greatest meal ever if the celery is one of the best things about it. The sauce was fairly dull. Not sure what half of the tomato sauce was doing on top. Maybe stopping it from drying out? If so, fair enough. It wasn't dry which is always a relief with casseroles. Otherwise, I would have prefered to mix it in, so that it could blend in with the herbs and garlic. It is a little plain there, sitting on the top as is. I grated some emmental cheese on it when reheating, that helped. All together, really not a bad meal. But not something I'd happily serve to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States