Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
mmm... this was so good. I just used what was around the kitchen - carrots, yellow pepper, tomato, bunch of garlic and onion, spinach and canned black beans instead of red. It turned out great!! i used olive oil instead of veggie oil and pasta sauce instead of tomato - i also suggest using more sauce than what is suggested. i also put more spices than what was called for and added cayenne pepper as well as some hot sauce to heat it up. i added mozarella cheese to half of that top and it's great with or without the cheese. yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I loved this. Better yet, my son who is vegan really liked it. I took the suggestion of a previous reviewer and cooked the rice and lentils in vegetable broth. The store was out of zucchini, so I substituted broccoli, and I used a can of seasoned diced tomatoes and seasoned tomato sauce, one 8 oz can in the casserole and one on top. Actually that is the best thing about this recipe - it is very adaptable. I am really looking forward to experimenting with different combinations. Oh, and it was even better a couple of days later as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was a delicious meatless meal for Lent. I didn't have zuchinni, so I used fresh mushrooms. I also didn't have a fresh tomato, so I used half a can of diced tomatoes including the liquid. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
didn't have zucchini but made with the other veggies and used pizza sauce. added the extra seasoning which made it taste great. Put some mozz on it after it came out of hte oven and replaced the lid for a minute, and it was great :) easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This gets a three because of the use of white rice. Brown is more nutrients. Just prepare according to directions on the box or bag. The tomato sauce on top needs some help. Mix the herbs in with it instead of just putting them on top, or perhaps even leaving it off altogether and mix the whole can in with the other half. Not a bad recipe, but it just needs a big of tweaking to make it four or five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very very yummy vegetarian main dish. I doubled the tomato sauce, exchanged red pepper for the carrots and celery, and used a can of lentil soup instead of cooking lentils. I recommend adding a bit more rice if this is a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MonicaG
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Awesome recipe! I was looking for something other than a curry to use the mountains of lentils we have in the cupboard and this was great :) It was similar to another recipe that just throws everything into the dish and bakes it for 1 1/2 hours, and thats what I did here, cause Im lazy I guess ;P (be sure to mix it half way through if you use this method) Turned out great, lentils weren't mush either. I added all the spices into the lentils and rice and topped it with tomato sauce for the last 20 mins. Very yum, hardly any left and I only just made it! (I also threw in some peas and yellow beans I had)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Needs some adjustments to the written instructions. Enjoyed the flavour, but my lentils were way too mushy with suggested cooking time. Will try again, and shorten lentil cooking time and maybe add some cheese. Thanks for the idea. It was tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really Yummy! My vegetarian brother took the leftovers. I modified a bit, due to what I had on hand... olive oil instead of vegetable oil, canned tomatoes, didn't have zucchini or basil, just increased celery and carrots. I also sprinkled cheese on top when it came out of the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4you

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Kind of a bland recipe, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States