Lentil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
As written, I'm not overly impressed with the taste/results of this recipe, but I can tell that with very little adjustment and change, it will be an excellent addition to my standard collection. Many other people said they neglected to add the tomatoes to the recipe and after trying mine, I wished I had not added them, as well. I had to sprinkle more salt over top of the result and I wish I'd included some minced garlic when cooking up the onions... just a few things I will be sure to do the next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This quiche was delicious and easy and quick to make. I put it in two deep dish pie crusts and cooked/fried the onions in oil and seasoned with granulated garlic and salt before adding to quiche to speed things up a bit and give it a good flavor. I left out the tomato. I used 1 cup of cheese instead of 1/2 c and sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. The italian seasoning was good, but next time I will use just garlic, basil and oregano individually, as I don't care for italian seasoning very much. Basically, you can add and leave out so many things as long as you stick to the base items and it will turn out incredible. Great taste and texture, esp. if you don't like the egginess of regular quiche! 5 STARS!!! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I love quiche, and had never tried Lentil's so I gave this a try. I used egg beaters liquid egg for the eggs, skim milk for the milk and low fat chedder cheese. The quiche came out nicely and I have added this recipe to my vegetarian recipe folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is by far one of the best quiche recipes I've every had...I love that there is no pastry!! After reading the other reviews I also increased the spices....Using fresh herbs - parsley, coriander, basil - and dried oregano and sage....I also added a little nutmeg and think I will put even more nutmeg next time. I also only cooked the lentils for about 15 min. and stir-fried my onion to save time. This was just a fabulous dish!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really liked this quiche. I omitted the onion and tomato, cut the salt in half, and added a dash of garlic powder. I used 2 cups of frozen cut broccoli, since thats what I had on hand. I also just mixed the lentils, cheese (shredded cheddar and monterrey jack blend), and broccoli together in the pot I cooked the lentils in and then poured it into the dish. I also added a sprinkling of cheese on top. I only cooked my lentils for 10 minutes and I used a 9x11" baking dish, baked it for just under 35 minutes. Came out beautifully, I think it would also be really good with cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I love this recipe because I have all the things in my pantry or fridge. I did not put the broccoli on top of the lentils to steam and I only cooked the lentils for ten minutes. That really cut down on time. I think I like this recipe best of all because it taste great the next day. Be sure too add the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
this may be the best quiche i've ever had. the vegetables filled 2 9-inch crusts (not deep dish), but i needed a little extra egg and milk. i just threw tons of spices in there, like oregano, basil, parsley, rosemary, thyme, and sage. the lentils filled out the taste well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Good....I substituted brocolli for corn and it tasted fabulous! Used a bit of blue cheese, feta and no cheddar and it was great....Remember to let it cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
WW Points Plus 4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe is great. I have been looking to cut down meat in my diet and this dish is great for protein. I opted out of the cheese and added half a sweet potato and about 1/2 cup of sliced butternut squash(thinly sliced) to the onions while they were grilling. These gave it a nice texture and a bit more flavour. Didn't have italian seasoning so i added fresh basil and oregano, next time I'll add much more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States