Lentil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was an awesome Quiche even my picky husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Care_Palm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Loved it! I make this weekly. Sometimes I use broccoli, sometimes spinach, I even chop up a zucchini from time to time. A can of diced tomatoes works if I don't have any fresh on hand. Seriously, the possibilies are endless. Don't skimp on the salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was awesome. I left out the cheese, still turned out fine. I also used 1/2 can of stewed tomatoes and some onion powder instead of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe was very tasty. I don't know why others said to omit the tomatoes. I added canned tomatoes that were pre-seasoned and it was delicious!! Also, I used 3 eggs instead of 4 which was fine but it would have held together better with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This has become a staple recipe of ours. I have followed the recipe but usually I don't use tomatoes and I use ham or turkey bacon instead of the lentils. It's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is by far one of the best quiche recipes I've every had...I love that there is no pastry!! After reading the other reviews I also increased the spices....Using fresh herbs - parsley, coriander, basil - and dried oregano and sage....I also added a little nutmeg and think I will put even more nutmeg next time. I also only cooked the lentils for about 15 min. and stir-fried my onion to save time. This was just a fabulous dish!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made a half batch of this, and it will be a regular around these parts now because it's delicious! I used this as a base- I changed a lot in this recipe- the biggest was the lack of crust. I used a sheet of puffed pastry and draped it into a 10 inch cast iron skillet which turned out beautifully! For the onions I caramelized them in the same skillet I would be making the lentils in with some white wine, salt and black pepper; I'm very glad I did because it gave the onions more flavor and cooked though out nicely. I added some corn to it, used canned tomatoes, instead of italian seasoning, I used parsley, oregano, thyme and some sage, which was very inviting and delicious. I placed the onions into a separate bowl once caramelized and then cooked my lentils in chicken stock adding water when needed, added broccoli, and poured that into the onion bowl with the rest of the veggies. I shredded some aged white cheddar and some le gruyere for the cheese and it was marvelous! The half batch fed my husband and I for dinner and now we have just enough for breakfast in the morning. It all fits nicely in the 10 in skillet... I'm going to make this again, and keep experimenting with it as I go. Good base, but as others have said, it sounds a little bland alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NedNoD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Easy to make. Surprisingly good, even though it's without a crust! I liked this better cold than I did when it was hot! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is my new fave dish. I can't think you enought for posting it! It is quick, flavorful, and healthy. I will be making this weekly for a healthy breakfast dish. Made the following modifications: egg whites only, no salt, Greek seasoning instead of Italian, and Italian flavored canned diced tomatoes for fresh (I don't like fresh tomatoes). The dish far exceeded my expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This really was a delicious way to jump start our morning. I added some garlic salt, and some artichoke hearts. We also baked it in a pie crust. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieErinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States