Lentil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe. I used red lentils which I really liked because it seemed like crust. I also increased eggs to 6 and milk to 1 1/2 cups to fill over veggies. I used a deep dish pyrex pie plate. I also used Gruyère cheese, 1/2 which I put on top of ingredients before I poured egg milk mixture but it made a beautiful glaze over top. I used basil and lemon thyme to season because that I what I had. One of my kids ate it with fresh salsa over it. We will definitely be making this again thoughout the summer. I can think of other veggies that could be used. I loved the fresh tomato taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I thought this quiche was delicious! The only changes I made were adding 2-3 cloves of fresh garlic to the onions, while I cooked them on the stovetop. I also put in dried oregano, basil and thyme instead of an Italian seasoning. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a glass casserole dish (baked it for the same amt. of time). It was so easy to make, and the entire family loved it (even my three elementary kiddos)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe! I put about a tsp. of minced garlic in with the onions as they were cooking. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used about 1/4 c. sundried tomatoes in olive oil. I didn't have a full two cups of broccoli so I used about 1.5 cups broccoli and half a cup of cut green beans. No need to add cheese. It was very tasty and lower in fat and calories without it. I'll definitely make this again and maybe throw in mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was yummy. I made some changes due to ingredients that I had on hand and the size of my family. It turned out so well with the changes though that I'll probably keep it that way. I fried up the onion with a little oil and pressed 2 cloves of garlic with it. I used a 16 oz bag of California Blend frozen vegetables instead of the broccoli and I left the tomatoes out all together. I did double up the eggs, milk and lentils and used a 9x13 baking dish for the cooking. We're a family of 5 and I was concerned the the original recipe would not be enough. I didn't have Italian seasoning so I used some parsely, coriander and basil. With the cheese I used 2 cups; 1 cup mixed in with the eggs, lentils and vegetables and the other cup sprinkled on top. I baked for the recommended 45 minutes and that was perfect. Let it set for 10 minutes to cool and then served it right up. It was great!! Thanks for the recipe. I would never have thought to have combined eggs with lentils. Being a vegetarian tasty and nutritious dishes can be hard to come by. This one meets all requirements in one. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Considering its healthfulness, this was a very good recipe. It's an easy, basic recipe that has endless possibilities. I have made it 3 times with different combinations of veggies and herbs I had on hand (I always keep the ratio 2 c green veggie to 1 c other veggie). So far, my favorite has been with red onion, 2 c shredded zucchini (squeeze out excess water before adding to the dish), 1 c chopped baby bella mushrooms, and 2 t dill weed. I use red lentils, since they are already split they lend a much smoother consistency when they cook down. I find this dish to be incredibly satisfying, and I actually prefer the taste after it has sat in the fridge overnight, allowing the flavors to "marry" and been reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I liked the Quiche. I added some hot spices to the egg mixture. Very glad I did. My husband asked me what kind of meet I added (I didn't add any- way to go Lentils). So over all it was a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
It was good but not great. I think it would have been aweful/flavorless if I didn't follow suggestions from the reviewers. I sauted the onions and 2 cloves of garlic (minced) in olive oil in a non-stick pan. I didn't add tomatoes. For seasoning I did 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 salt. I cooked it in a 8 x 10 pyrex. It was done in 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
SO good!!! and SUPER EASY - just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! Simple, tasty, and healthy. A few quick notes: the lentils needed more than 2c of water - 2c was absorbed before the lentils were cooked. I needed to increase the eggs to 6 and add a little extra milk to get enough egg mixture to cover the other ingredients. Added red pepper flakes, oregano and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
A great way to make a quiche heartier. The lentils help to make this a more substantial dish. The kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States