Lentil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Sorry to be a downer but we really did not like this recipe. It is indeed mild on the eggs - too mild and it doesn't hold the rest of the ingredients together well. The lentils were vvery bland and the Italian seasoning floated right back up to the top. We only ate a small serving each and now I am trying to think of ways to remix and use up the leftovers - which is most of it. Mostly a waste of energy, although I did eat a few vegetables I might not have otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe. I chopped the tomatoes and placed them on pie dish and seasoned. Instead of baking the onions, I sauteed with garlic. I added some chicken boullin to the lentils. Added a layer of sourcream over the lentil mixture and spread with cheese! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
WW Points Plus 4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Rowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
First time at making quiche and it wasn't bad at all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Left out the tomatoes partly based on the other suggestions and added a bit of garlic salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Excellent! I didn't use any tomatoes and substituted the Italian seasoning w/ Herbs de Provence with success. Be sure to really drain the lentils so you don't end up with a wet quiche. This recipe works :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
My oldest and I loved this....hubby and youngest...so-so.... I used red onion, a bag of rozen broccoli which I steamed in the microwave, a carton of Eggbeaters Eggwhites, and a splash of skim milk. I did use some shredded cheddar as well. Really yummy, healthy and protein packed. The lentils made a nice crust on the bottom. Thanks for a different kind of quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought this was great - a smart twist on quiche. Left out tomatoes bc I didn't have any but would add halved cherry tomatoes in future. I did the onions (added garlic) in a frying pan and next time would add the cooked lentils to the frying pan to cook off some of the water as the original recipe suggests. I used red lentils which cook up fast and kind of vanish in the dish (dH didn't even know it had lentils in it!). I think swiss cheese would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Like several other reviewers, I left out the tomatoes, and sauteed the onions on the stovetop with a bit of garlic powder. Followed the other measurements exactly. Definitely a keeper, and it will get made often. Looks easy enough to experiment with other veggies, too. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Easy and tasty! I didn't use cheese, and it didn't need it at ALL! I'll definitely be making this one again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States