Lentil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is a bit too bland to our liking. I changed things up to add flavor, which improved this to a 4 star rating. Sauteed onion and garlic instead of baking. Omitted the dried Italian seasoning and used fresh thyme, oregano, sage and rosemary. Also, blanching fresh broccoli florets first is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Yum!! I made this exactly as written the first time I made it and it was so delicious! But it's a perfect recipe to tweek to your liking. The second time around I pre-cooked the broccoli just a bit in the microwave prior to placing on the lentils to finish cooking. (I don't like my cooked veggies 'crunchy', I like them cooked.) And I added sauted mushrooms and I loved that addition! You can also play fast and loose with the flavor of cheese you use - shredded swiss adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe is amazing and exceptionally adaptable which really suits my cooking style. Once I had got started - the onions were already in the oven - I realised I didn't have all the ingredients. I didn't have dried lentils so I used a can of lentils. I didn't have broccoli florets so I used frozen peas and corn. I don't do milk or cheese so I used water instead of the milk and half a cup of nutritional yeast instead of the cheese. I had a packet of mushrooms which had reached their sell by date and since I had already 'murdered' this recipe I threw them in as well. I'm a new gluten free dairy free vegetarian and so am on a learning curve with my family kicking and squealing all the way. I am pleased to report that they gobbled this up like there was no tomorrow and I have had to promise that it will be a regular feature at our dinner table. Of course, now I can't wait to make it as it was supposed to be made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This quiche turned out SPECTACULARLY! I've always loved quiche but had never even imagined making it with lentils. My husband and I have stopped eating red meat and this is such a great vegetarian meal. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
It was between a three and a four. I really wanted to love this as all of the ingredients are in my faves. I doubled it and put it in a casserole dish and it was very quick and easy so it does have that going for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Made this after getting the recipe from a friend. Really delicious, my husband and I both loved it and couldn't stop eating it! Great as breakfast leftovers too :) Easy prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very flavorful and easy! Everyone loved it including my 15 year old and my 2 years old. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppermintkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I agree with omitting the tomatoes and adding the garlic. This was my first quiche attempt, and it turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Yummy, yummy!!! This was fairly simple and so good. Great because its very versatile:) Pretty much followed the recipe exactly except I used mozzarella instead of cheddar cheese. Loved this and will be making it alot!! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Sorry to be a downer but we really did not like this recipe. It is indeed mild on the eggs - too mild and it doesn't hold the rest of the ingredients together well. The lentils were vvery bland and the Italian seasoning floated right back up to the top. We only ate a small serving each and now I am trying to think of ways to remix and use up the leftovers - which is most of it. Mostly a waste of energy, although I did eat a few vegetables I might not have otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States