Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Wow, this really surprised us! It is easy and very tasty. A lot of lentil recipes have a heavy bad taste to them, but this one is excellent. Even our three year old liked it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2000
I loved this. I included it as the main part of a typical New Zealand roast dinner. I accompanied it with roast potatoes, roast parsnips, steamed cauliflower, peas and vegetarian gravy.It would be great to serve to a non-vegetarian guest. I didn't bother with the breadcrumbs on top and with gravy I don't think it needs them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
I used a tomato/cream dry soup mix which gave the loaf a great flavor and color. The loaf itself is nice and moist but still I served it with lots of gravy. Next time I will leave out the bread crumbs because they all fell off when the slices were laid on their side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
This is delicious! I added a dash of hot sauce and a dash of Worchestershire sauce along with the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I made this for my husband, who usually hates lentils and is a big meat-eater. He took one bite and said, 'surprisingly, this is really, really good'. I loved it as well- I left off the crumb topping and used a powdered gravy mix instead of the soup mix. I microwaved leftovers with a couple of tablespoons of water, since they dried out after a few days. I'll be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I really love this recipe--I've made it twice and loved it each time! I did however, find it just a bit dry and too salty. To combat this, I'd try adding an extra egg and substituting water for the bullion or broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
i have tried this recipe many a times and have loved it!!! it is a treat for my friends and family when they come round to see me. Thank you for this delightful loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This was very good with veggie gravy. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I love it. So easy to make. Even my non-vegetarian husband likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is a great recipe! I did make some changes, though. First, I didn't have homemade vegetable broth (canned would've made it too salty), so I just used water. Second, I don't eat eggs, so I used 1/2 cup of soft silken tofu in place of the two eggs. Third, the bread crumbs on the top have to go. They make it too dry. I'd put ketchup or something on the top like you would with regular meatloaf. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of salt because I thought there would be complainers, but I really don't think it made that much of a difference, so I don't think I'd add it the next time I make this. Other than these minor things, it's a great recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States