Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This tasted like lentil stuffing to me. I can't believe everyone liked this so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was decent (Hugo liked only the first night...then he said it was gross). I made it pretty similar to the suggestion, except I forgot to add tomato paste/ketchup, and I used bread crumbs instead of bread. If I make this again it will need some more tweaking to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good and hearty. I used some oats because I ran out of bread and barbecue sauce instead of tomato paste, though I wouldn't do that again--that flavor was a little overpowering. I made it in two small casseroles, and froze one and the defrosted one was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearwacket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgman, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was pretty good. I messed up and didn't add all of the liquid (it looked waay too soupy to me) but it really did need it. I'll know next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PoisonIvy250
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good! I made alot of changes that others suggested, but with those changes it turned out excellent. I added an extra egg, used ketchup instead of tomato paste, extra herbs. I used a 1 pound bag of lentils and it made enough for 3 loaves. I'm freezing the extras for healthy dinners later when we are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Modified ingredients list: 1 cup lentils; 2.5 cups water; 2 cups cooked white rice + 1 thick slice focaccia, torn; 3 eggs; 1 cup vegetable broth; 2 tbsp. tomato paste; 1 tsp. chili sauce; 1 tsp. worcestershire sauce; 1 tsp. dried basil; .5 tsp. black pepper; 1 tsp. dried parsley; 1 tbsp. olive oil; 2 cloves garlic, minced; 1 carrot, shredded; 2 cremini mushrooms, finely chopped; .5 packet onion soup mix; .5 cup ground almond; .5 cup shredded cheddar (topping)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I tested this recipe because I though I would be making it for holiday dinner. I read the reviews. Many praised this recipe so I ignored the fewer that said it was bland. I should not have done that. The recipe called for 1 1/8 c of lentils, but the directions said 2 c. I went closer to 2 and think the spices/flavor amounts were supposed to be with the 1 1/8 c. It was pretty bland even though I added onions. If I try this again I will double the basil and garlic powder, add more onions, and put in some bell pepper. However I don't know if I will be making this again, it was too time consuming. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have never had lentil loaf in my life before today. I decided to make it because we had all the ingredients and we're moving in two weeks. So we have to eat up everything for we'll loose it! It was fantastic! I loved this so much. It is going into regular rotation in my household from now on. I did make a few changes based on other people's reviews. I used ketchup instead of tomato sauce, three eggs, an extra half tablespoon of olive oil, and I used onion soup mix instead of vegetable. By accident I added the entire packet of soup mix, but it still tasted incredible. The other change I made was that I didn't use any bread crumbs at all. I just put a little bit of ketchup on the top about 15 minutes before taking it out of the oven. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
It was a bland recipe. I will have to try to spice it up some more or not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a lot more work than just making lentil soup or an indian style daal - and it didn't pay off. It was dry and more effort than classic lentil recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States