Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I loved this vegetarian meat loaf recipe! I did make a few changes to the original ingredients for the recipe to better suit what I actually had in my pantry. I used brown lentils instead of green, whole wheat sandwich bread instead of white, and I did not add the dry soup base, rather I just added extra of each spice/herb listed. I also added some steak seasoning because I think it helps match the taste of traditional meat loaf without any of the meat. Served with ketchup just like traditional meat loaf, and I thought this tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SimplyElegant
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I just made this recipe. Fantastic! I added 1/2 c chopped mushrooms, liquid smoke, mesquite seasoning, 1/4 c chopped walnuts. And I also made a new flavored gravy. The flavours turned out great. Thank you for the recipe. I will be doing this many mores times again. Oh, by the way, I'm not a vegetarian! Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennah
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Turned out great! Sprinkled a little cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I read a few of the reviews before making this recipe. I added an extra egg and used ketchup instead of tomato paste. For the dry soup I used Cheddar potato. I sauteed: half an onion finely diced, 2 garlic cloves finely diced, 1-2 carrots shredded and 4-5 mushrooms finely chopped and added those in. I also mixed in a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese. When it came time to add the bread crumbs, I used Panko Italian Style and also sprinkled a little more mozzarella cheese on top. I whipped up a quick vegetarian brown gravy to go with it, and this was delicious! My husband and I both enjoyed it very much, and I will be making it for us to eat at Thanksgiving dinner in place of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Not being a vegetarian I was hesitant at first to try this recipe. I had a bag of unused lentils so I thought I'd try it. I adjusted slightly as the other reviewers suggested and it turned out amazing! Smells great and tasted just as good! I highly recommend this for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beghtelfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
By far the best receipe I've tried yet for lentil loaf. the only changes I made were to use 1/2 c bread crumbs instead of slices of bread, 2 T ketchup instead of tomato paste, added 1/2 onion along with some chopped celery, carrot & green pepper. I also spread extra ketchup on top before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was very good. I've tried a few "meat"loaf recipes and this one turned out the best. I did add sauteed fresh garlic, fresh onion, fresh carrots, and fresh rosemary. I took the other reviewers suggestions and swapped ketchup for tomato paste and did 3 eggs rather than 2. I didn't have bread around so used 1/2 Cup Italian breadcrumbs like another reviewer suggested. I ended up not adding the broth because adding a cup of liquid i thought would make in really runny. It came out a little too dry as a result but i do think 1 cup of broth would have been too much. Next time i'll boil the lentils veggie broth and then I won't drain them. I think that would have been the perfect amount of liquid. Also, i didn't do the final bread crumb crust - that seemed like too much to me. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this recipe. I added some chopped roasted red peppers and topped with tomato basil sauce. It was really good and I plan on adding this to my list of Meatless Monday favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States