Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and moistness of this loaf! My 8 & 4 year old boys gobbled this up and Dad too (we do eat primarily veggie dishes). We have wheat intolerances so I substituted Kamut/Spelt bread & omitted bread crumbs. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic, fresh parsley, omitted vegetable soup mix, added tomato paste and a little bit of ketchup (as well as squirted some on top while cooking). I also sauteed some onion and grated carrot and added to mixture. Melted goat cheese on top in the last few minutes. Served with a vegetarian gravy from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
added some thyme and had for thanksgiving instead of turkey as a vegetarian option...loved it! my new turkey replacement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
read many reviews....grated up 1 carrot.. did not add broth to loaf mix..used ketchup...added sauted veggies...topped with bbq sauce.... VERY flavorful vegetarian dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great stuff. Didn't do the soup mix, I just exaggerated spices. Garlic powder, onion powder, dill, extra parsley, chopped onion, extra ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, chilli powder...I could have added even more and it would have only made it better, I bet. I added a layer of ketchup and barbecue sauce on top, then mozzarella cheese, then a cut up onion, and let the onion broil under the broiler for a few minutes. It only really tasted good after spending a day in the fridge...as with 99% of vegetarian food, let in sit in the fridge to let the flavors pop. I wanna add mushrooms and olives and bell peppers:]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I really liked this dish. I did mine with barbeque sauce on top, and it was really good. I undercooked my lentils a little, so that kind of kept the whole thing from being fabulous for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sungold72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was surprisingly good. I'm a bit skeptical of meatloaf substitutions, but liked this quite a bit. I put BBQ sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
really good, even my meat loving husband said it wasn't bad. I put crushed cornflakes on top of the ketchup I put ontop of the loaf. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
We really liked this recipe. I did make a marinara type sauce to go over the top. It was great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This won over all the ham eaters this Easter! Seriously, these carnivores liked it better than the ham. I added some carrots, mushrooms and shallots to the loaf. I also substituted italian bread crumbs for the bread. I served it with vegetarian gravy (also an excellent recipe on this site). People couldn't believe how good it was!!! Thanks a lot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe as is but replaced the seasonings and bread with stuffing mix and a packet of meatloaf seasoning mix. I actually craved having this again while I was eating it. Excellent alternative to traditional meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States