Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was decent (Hugo liked only the first night...then he said it was gross). I made it pretty similar to the suggestion, except I forgot to add tomato paste/ketchup, and I used bread crumbs instead of bread. If I make this again it will need some more tweaking to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good and hearty. I used some oats because I ran out of bread and barbecue sauce instead of tomato paste, though I wouldn't do that again--that flavor was a little overpowering. I made it in two small casseroles, and froze one and the defrosted one was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearwacket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgman, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was pretty good. I messed up and didn't add all of the liquid (it looked waay too soupy to me) but it really did need it. I'll know next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PoisonIvy250
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good! I made alot of changes that others suggested, but with those changes it turned out excellent. I added an extra egg, used ketchup instead of tomato paste, extra herbs. I used a 1 pound bag of lentils and it made enough for 3 loaves. I'm freezing the extras for healthy dinners later when we are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Modified ingredients list: 1 cup lentils; 2.5 cups water; 2 cups cooked white rice + 1 thick slice focaccia, torn; 3 eggs; 1 cup vegetable broth; 2 tbsp. tomato paste; 1 tsp. chili sauce; 1 tsp. worcestershire sauce; 1 tsp. dried basil; .5 tsp. black pepper; 1 tsp. dried parsley; 1 tbsp. olive oil; 2 cloves garlic, minced; 1 carrot, shredded; 2 cremini mushrooms, finely chopped; .5 packet onion soup mix; .5 cup ground almond; .5 cup shredded cheddar (topping)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I tested this recipe because I though I would be making it for holiday dinner. I read the reviews. Many praised this recipe so I ignored the fewer that said it was bland. I should not have done that. The recipe called for 1 1/8 c of lentils, but the directions said 2 c. I went closer to 2 and think the spices/flavor amounts were supposed to be with the 1 1/8 c. It was pretty bland even though I added onions. If I try this again I will double the basil and garlic powder, add more onions, and put in some bell pepper. However I don't know if I will be making this again, it was too time consuming. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have never had lentil loaf in my life before today. I decided to make it because we had all the ingredients and we're moving in two weeks. So we have to eat up everything for we'll loose it! It was fantastic! I loved this so much. It is going into regular rotation in my household from now on. I did make a few changes based on other people's reviews. I used ketchup instead of tomato sauce, three eggs, an extra half tablespoon of olive oil, and I used onion soup mix instead of vegetable. By accident I added the entire packet of soup mix, but it still tasted incredible. The other change I made was that I didn't use any bread crumbs at all. I just put a little bit of ketchup on the top about 15 minutes before taking it out of the oven. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
It was a bland recipe. I will have to try to spice it up some more or not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a lot more work than just making lentil soup or an indian style daal - and it didn't pay off. It was dry and more effort than classic lentil recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and moistness of this loaf! My 8 & 4 year old boys gobbled this up and Dad too (we do eat primarily veggie dishes). We have wheat intolerances so I substituted Kamut/Spelt bread & omitted bread crumbs. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic, fresh parsley, omitted vegetable soup mix, added tomato paste and a little bit of ketchup (as well as squirted some on top while cooking). I also sauteed some onion and grated carrot and added to mixture. Melted goat cheese on top in the last few minutes. Served with a vegetarian gravy from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States