Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
The texture of this loaf was quite good, but the taste was pretty mediocre. It really could have benefited from some sauteed onions or mushrooms in the mix. Maybe some ground nuts or seeds would have added some depth. It's was alright slathered with gravy, but the soup mix gave it a "proccessed food" flavour I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doitmyselfmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Amazing-- WAY better than I had expected! As suggested with others: you need more lentils to fill up the loaf pan. I used 3 cups and just increased the other incredients to taste. I also used 3 eggs and wheat bread. Agree with others... It is slighttly bland, so I also sauteed, garlic cloves, scallion, celery and mushrooms. I also added a tiny bit of jalepeno that I had left from something else. Skip the vegetable broth -- will make too salty. Omit the bread crumbs, but I wanted something for color and texture. Then, I found I had leftover french's dried onions from Thanksgiving. Used that in place of breadcrumbs on the top... very nice tough!! This is very very very very good!! Its a keeper 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I always read the reviews of others before trying a new recipe. In this one I used sprouted sesame wheat bread,left out the soup mix and used curry, cayenne, thyme, and basil instead...a lot more. I sauteed 1/2 onion and 3 large cloves of fresh garlic, and two grated carrots. I stayed with the tomato paste, as it has 100mg less of salt than catsup and also the main reason I did not use the soup mix. I left off the breadcumbs enirely. Letting it sit for 10 minutes wasn't enough to let it cool and firm up. And, perhaps, the lentils need to be drained before mixing with everything else(it wasn't mentioned anywhere) All in all, this was a great recipe for lentil loaf and I have tried many of them with little satisfaction. Thank you for sharing! This one is printed and emailed to be shared with family and friends. Happy Holidays to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The flavor was great but the texture was too mushy. We really didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great recipe that offers a strong base of lentils, eggs, and bread pieces that can be seasoned however you want. The suggestion of a flavor pack is good, but really one could zest it up creatively in any way. I added sauteed onion, garlic, and hot peppers. Topped with a great English chutney. Was a hit at a table full of skeptics. Awesome and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Loved it! Instead of soup mix I just added my own spices and added cooked carrots and lots of fresh cilantro and garlic. I put it in two small round cake pans and that made it so crunchy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars because I followed several other suggestions. I doubled the recipe. I gently cooked shredded carrot, chopped onion and celery in butter while I was boiling the lentils. I added 9 slices of wheat bread to the lentils and veggie mixture, 3 eggs, 1/4 cup ketchup and about 2 tablespoons of the italian season mixture I made. I hand mixed this until well blended. Then put it into one loaf pan and 1 cupcake (6 cups) pan. Baked it at 400* per directions. I made a creamy gravy for it and used up more of my italian season mix to season it. It reminds me of my stuffing that I make at thanksgiving with my turkey. I will be making this again because its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was great. I did make some changes. Added fresh garlic instead of garlice powder and instead of dry vegetable soup mix i had a packet of thai vegetable seasoning that i threw in. Also, i skipped the parsley and basil. Basically, it's a great basic recipe that can be spiced up however you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this this evening for dinner and it was delicious. I used just two eggs and things seemed to work out fine. I used whole wheat baguette I had lying around and it worked great and ketchup instead of tomato paste. I cooked the lentils in an organic vegetable broth and did not add any further broth, water or soup powder. I also sauteed some onions, garlic, celery and carrot and added that. I added some grated cheddar cheese and chopped walnuts for crunch and extra protein and it was great. I would recommend adding grated cheese to the top instead of the bread crumbs - it really adds a lot to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
So yummy, read teh reviews and cooked lentils in broth. Used whole wheat bread, used thyme and basil instead of soup mix. Ketcup, 3 eggs, and added sauted onion, garlic, sheddred carrots and zucchini. And I baked them in muffin tins and cooked in half the time. My two year old is even eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States