Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This was good. I made a few changes based upon what was in the kitchen. I used HealthNut bread instead of white, egg beaters instead of whole eggs, onion soup mix instead of vegetable soup mix, fresh garlic, fresh basil and fresh parsley and instead of bread crumbs on the top I made a mixture of ketchup and chunky salsa and baked it with that on top. I'll probably make it again sometime, but I prefer the cottage cheese roast from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I have had many kinds of vegetarian loafs and find this one to be a bit bland. However,I did make some improvements by adding chopped walnuts and topping with cranberry sauce slices, sounds strange but really good,(something my vegetarian Mother-in-law always does). Also serve with a little B-B-Q sauce on the side for an extra kick and This recipe has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I have been searching, and searching for a lentila loaf recipe. This is a great find. Very tasty! I will definitely make this recipe again. I don't eat egg whites, only yolks, so I used 3 eggs for this recipe with 7 slices of bread. Prefect! I calculated the calories at 204 per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe!!!! The only things I did differently was that I used red lentils and a little green little because that was all I had on hand. I also used the food processor to break up the bread which made it a nice consistency. Next time I will try wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was a good recipe. I loved it and so did my vegetarian sister, who isn't easy to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
this was so good. i put 1/2 of the lentil mixture in the loaf pan, sprinkled mozzarella cheese and covered it with the remaining mixture. even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
With a few minor adjustments this loaf was stunning! I found it did not need any cooking time over the stated 40 min and such a nice crust formed there was no need for extra breadcrumbs. I served it with a mushroom tahina sauce, cajun wedges and broad beans. My husband, who isn't a vego like me, really loved it too. I will definately be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is a great recipe! I did make some changes, though. First, I didn't have homemade vegetable broth (canned would've made it too salty), so I just used water. Second, I don't eat eggs, so I used 1/2 cup of soft silken tofu in place of the two eggs. Third, the bread crumbs on the top have to go. They make it too dry. I'd put ketchup or something on the top like you would with regular meatloaf. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of salt because I thought there would be complainers, but I really don't think it made that much of a difference, so I don't think I'd add it the next time I make this. Other than these minor things, it's a great recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I'm sorry, but I just did not like this. I was very excited to try it and really wanted to like it, but I just didn't. It was very bland. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Yum, this was really good. Following the others' suggestions, I left out the bouillion and the topping and it turned out just right. I also used a garlic-herb soup mix instead of vegetable. My meat-eating boyfriend seemed particularly impressed by this dish, so it will become a staple around here. I think he liked it even more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States