Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
this was awesome! it was great on sandwhichs. although i tweaked a few things.. i didn't add: 1 egg, garlic powder, parsley, or the soup mix. i did however add onions fried with minced carrots and garlic in olive oil. dried basil and used ketchup instead of tomato sauce. i also added walnuts on top. next time i think i will substitute mushrooms instaed of 3 slices of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This looked a little unappetizing, but it tasted good. I seasoned the lentils with worcestershire and seasoned salt as they cooked. It needs some extra flavoring. It was good as is, but I like a lot of flavor, so next time I will add more worcestershire, a little more ketchup and sauteed onions, as another reviewer did. Then this recipe would probably get five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Very tasty, satisfying, and easy to make. My non-vegetarian husband loved it, too! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I wasn't all that crazy about this, though my husband liked it. I thought it was too much trouble and kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Excellent, I've been making this recipe for at least a year now. The only thing that I have changed is I don't use basil and I cover the top of the loaf with a mixture of the left over tomato paste and stock and then lightly sprinkle some seasoned bread crumbs over the top! PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This was especially good. My husband who hates any vegetarian loaf, actually liked this recipe. I have tried multipe recipes trying to get a good loaf without the dry, sometimes pasty, or just plain gross consisitancy. This recipe is not like the rest. I did stray off the path a little due to the fact that I didn't have some ingredients. SO what I had to do since I didn't have white bread was bake philsbury biscuits and cut them into tiny pieces, I used 10 biscuits, and I used Panko instead of breadcrumbs but I found that it didn't matter either way, and I questioned if I really needed the breadcrumbs at all. I also didn't have tomato paste and used ketchup and I used Onion soup mix rather than what was called for and everything was great. Try this recipe, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This was surprisingly good - and shocking how much it looked real meatloaf. I believe that the previous negative reviewers did not use an herb seasoning packet - I suspect that this is a necessary, as the loaf would probably be quite bland without some major seasoning (what do you expect? W/o spices it'd be just lentils and bread crumbs!). Next time, I may use bulgur in place of some of the bread crumbs, and may add half a can of cream of mushroom soup for extra flavor. This loaf lasted for awhile, and I ate it througout the week in sandwiches (w/ BBQ sauce and provolone cheese on a grinder role, and heated - so good!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
This isn't bad. Based on previous reviews, I decided to saute half an onion and a few cloves of garlic in some olive oil until the onion was translucent and then add the cup of broth and simmer for a few minutes. An easy step to add while the lentils are cooking, and I thought my loaf turned out quite flavorful so it might have helped with the blandness problem. Other than that, this was really easy and pretty tasty. I'm looking forward to trying a lentilloaf sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Very tasty! I, like other reviewers, skipped the vegetable broth and went with water, for salt reduction purposes. I also added mushrooms for a little bulk. Be careful not to overbake this delicious, hearty dish. Served with mashed potatoes, vegetarian gravy and peas, and BAM it's 1956 again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States