Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Just was not impressed. Did not eat the leftovers. I usually love lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETLEILANI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Sorry, we did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
this was awesome! it was great on sandwhichs. although i tweaked a few things.. i didn't add: 1 egg, garlic powder, parsley, or the soup mix. i did however add onions fried with minced carrots and garlic in olive oil. dried basil and used ketchup instead of tomato sauce. i also added walnuts on top. next time i think i will substitute mushrooms instaed of 3 slices of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This looked a little unappetizing, but it tasted good. I seasoned the lentils with worcestershire and seasoned salt as they cooked. It needs some extra flavoring. It was good as is, but I like a lot of flavor, so next time I will add more worcestershire, a little more ketchup and sauteed onions, as another reviewer did. Then this recipe would probably get five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Very tasty, satisfying, and easy to make. My non-vegetarian husband loved it, too! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I wasn't all that crazy about this, though my husband liked it. I thought it was too much trouble and kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Excellent, I've been making this recipe for at least a year now. The only thing that I have changed is I don't use basil and I cover the top of the loaf with a mixture of the left over tomato paste and stock and then lightly sprinkle some seasoned bread crumbs over the top! PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This was especially good. My husband who hates any vegetarian loaf, actually liked this recipe. I have tried multipe recipes trying to get a good loaf without the dry, sometimes pasty, or just plain gross consisitancy. This recipe is not like the rest. I did stray off the path a little due to the fact that I didn't have some ingredients. SO what I had to do since I didn't have white bread was bake philsbury biscuits and cut them into tiny pieces, I used 10 biscuits, and I used Panko instead of breadcrumbs but I found that it didn't matter either way, and I questioned if I really needed the breadcrumbs at all. I also didn't have tomato paste and used ketchup and I used Onion soup mix rather than what was called for and everything was great. Try this recipe, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This was surprisingly good - and shocking how much it looked real meatloaf. I believe that the previous negative reviewers did not use an herb seasoning packet - I suspect that this is a necessary, as the loaf would probably be quite bland without some major seasoning (what do you expect? W/o spices it'd be just lentils and bread crumbs!). Next time, I may use bulgur in place of some of the bread crumbs, and may add half a can of cream of mushroom soup for extra flavor. This loaf lasted for awhile, and I ate it througout the week in sandwiches (w/ BBQ sauce and provolone cheese on a grinder role, and heated - so good!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States