Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
So .. I am on the way to the oven with my lentil loaf! I am hoping it turns out! I am always looking for easy protein based meals without meat. I made a few changes. I did not have enough bread so I substituted it with some bread crumbs and bread. I used knorr vegetable mix but did not use the bouillon cube or bread crumbs on top based on others suggestions. I added a little hot pepper, cilantro, hungarian paprika, and curry. Rather than use tomato paste - I used some tomatoes that I just dried out yesterday with my dehydrator and a handful of flaxseed. I am hoping this is one of those recipies that I can add and take away from depending what is in my cupboard!! Will update you on how it turns out!! Forgot to mention but I cooked the lentils with the tomatoes, spices, and soup mix. Once they were soft and cooled down - I added it to the bread, water egg, onion mixture. Update: Tastes great! I can see that it may be a little dry tomorrow. I think I probably should not have omitted the tomotoe paste but this will be a staple in my kitchen!! Also, will probably make a tomato, brown sugar type topping for it next time (like meatloaf). Enjoy ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
great taste and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAGEMOON

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Somerdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I have made this twice, the first time exactly as written, and it was a little too salty. The second time I followed the others' reviews and used ketchup instead of tomato paste, as well as water instead of vegetable broth. This turned a so-so recipe into an amazing recipe. This will become a staple in my house. One note: be sure to let the loaf cool for a while before trying to remove it from the pan...the first time I removed it too soon and fell apart. The second time I let it cool for a while and it held together nicely. Adding another egg might solve this problem too if you're not going to have time to let it cool, but I haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This was better than I thought it would be. I did make some changes though. Instead of bread I used old-fashioned oatmeal (about 2 1/2 cups). Used whole wheat cracker meal instead of breadcrumbs. Threw in a bunch of fresh garlic, Italian seasoning and some soy sauce. Despite the heavy-handed seasonings (I thought it would be too much) it could've used more. I topped it with tomato sauce and grated Romano cheese. Next time, I'll change it up with a vegetarian gravy and add some sage and savory to give it a more 'meaty' flavor. But it was good and my guy gobbled it up like it was beef. Pretty good leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This recipe was fantastic. I made it with mashed potatoes & green beans for a good family meal. I also used the leftover for sandwiches the next day. This one is going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deleted

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I followed all the directions but added some sauted onion and used ketchup instead of tomato paste as suggested by other reviewers. I also took another suggestion and topped the loaf with ketchup before baking and then added italian bred crumbs on top of that when the recipe called for it. So delicious and healthy. Thanks for the wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was really tasty and had good texture, but didn't fill my loaf pan. Next time I make it I'll add about a quarter cup more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I REALLY liked my version...after reading the reviews, I knew I had to spice it up some. First off, I added a bouillon cube to the water when boiling the lentils. I then sauted 1/2 an onion, some green pepper, left-over jalapeno, grated carrot & minced garlic. I used 1/2 cup italian bread crumbs instead of bread, ketchup instead of tomato paste, and italian seasoning instead of the spices and soup mix. I also added a dash of chili sauce and a dash of worcheshire sauce. I did not put bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Just was not impressed. Did not eat the leftovers. I usually love lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETLEILANI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Sorry, we did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States