Lentil Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was incredibly suspicious of the lentil-lemon combination, but I had lentils to use up and wanted a nice, inexpensive soup to make - and it turned out amazing. This recipe blew my mind! So much flavor and very satisfying. The only changes I made were using vegetable broth since it was what I had on hand, and dried thyme since I didn't have any fresh. I can't wait to use up the reserve broth from the soup. Served with homemade whole wheat pita - don't tell my husband he just ate (and loved) a completely vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was very good! I did not use the swiss chard because it looked bad at the store. I held off in putting in the lemon juice until the soup was done and we squeezed in as much as we wanted. I think 1/2 cup would be too much. A nice hearty soup for a cold winter day! I will make again and try it with the swiss chard or spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This recipe made so much soup! I would have given it 4 stars if I hadn't gotten tired of eating it and ended up throwing some out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The best part of this recipe was adding my own home grown Swiss chard, parsley and lemons! A nice trick is to blend, (in a blender,) about 1/4 of the lentil soup part (before adding the chard.) Add blended part back to soup before adding chard. This makes it a bit thicker. To the soup mixture step-while sauteeing the onion and garlic ADD a teaspoon of garlic. YUM! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved this soup! I was skeptical about the quantity of broth and water called for, but after all of that simmering, you end up with the right amount. I made this vegetarian by using veg broth instead of chicken. I went a littler heavier on the thyme sprigs and used a little less than 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I suggest adding 1/4 cup at first, tasting it and then adding lemon as needed. The soup has a lot of depth when it comes to flavor and the lemon and thyme have your taste buds craving more. I highly recommend this wonderful, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I really liked this, but it made a bigger batch than we anticipated and it was more than my husband and I could eat. We got tired of the leftovers very quickly. But the taste was good, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a delicious soup! We've grown a huge amount of Chard in our 'Square Foot Garden' and we were really glad to find a recipe that used a lb and a half! We did use all of the broth and just added about two cups of water. The lemon flavor was surprisingly good, we'll be serving this again soon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by radiocycle
Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I had this soup at a restaurant near my work on several lunch occasions. It was sooo good and healthy that I longed to find a recipe similar to what the Lebonese chef created. I have found it right here and have made it several times for guests accompanied by fatttoush salad. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Excellent soup with robust and tangy flavor. I love serving this with stuffed grape leaves and pita bread. Makes for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ratlwm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe was tasty. I didn't follow it exactly, rather used it as a loose guideline. I'm sure it's delicious as specified, but I used about half the ingredients and came out with quite a bit of flavor. I didn't have parsley or cilantro, (and I kind of felt like the flavors clashed a little anyway) so I upped the thyme and added some bouillon. I also subbed kale for swiss chard, because I'm on a kale kick and it's so nutritious and its texture holds up well in soups. Finally, I used canned lentils- really saved time, definitely just as good. Being a lemon lover, (particularly with lentils) I didn't think the lemon flavor was too much, especially if you let it sit for a while and let the garlic and onion flavors absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States