Lentil Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Very good, filling, great taste, and healthy. However, I found the length of the cooking times to be absurd and unnecessarily long. The first cooking time (for the broth), I cut back to 30 min; also, I used all the broth and only added a little extra water. I cooked the lentils for about 30 minutes, until tender but not mushy, the way I like them, and I did not simmer it a full 15 minutes after adding the remaning ingredients. I think this would also be very good with spinach or any other green in place of the chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I highly recommend, the dark greens are so tasty in this soup unfortunetly the lemon really over powered the flavors, because of this the soup tasted better the next night. I'll make again with half the lemon suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
YO!! The wife hated it, but I was feel'n this one. BIG UP. I made some garlic cheesy bread to go with, yo perfect match....not enough good things I can say abouts it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved this soup! I was skeptical about the quantity of broth and water called for, but after all of that simmering, you end up with the right amount. I made this vegetarian by using veg broth instead of chicken. I went a littler heavier on the thyme sprigs and used a little less than 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I suggest adding 1/4 cup at first, tasting it and then adding lemon as needed. The soup has a lot of depth when it comes to flavor and the lemon and thyme have your taste buds craving more. I highly recommend this wonderful, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
It's so healthy, that is the biggest benefit. The directions were a bog lenthy...Just boil the broth and put in lentils and later on at greens.You could use any green like mustard or kale too. Immidiately I wanted to eat it all but by the next day, I was sick of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I didn't realize this required pre-seasoning chicken stock, so instead I created a bouquet garni with the herbs, and used straight chicken stock in lieu of the water. I loved the lemony flavor and enjoyed the addition of swiss chard. Like many, I shortened the cooking time for the stock and for the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I like this!! I agree with a previous comment about shortening the cooking time. I would only cook the lentils about 20-25 minutes and simply because I absolutely adore lemon, I think I will add more than 1/2 cup next time. I would also add the TIP to those not familiar with chard, that like spinach, it is important to wash sufficiently to get the dirt off the leaves. I am sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Living in Italy it is hard to find all the seasonings this soup required (!) so I replaced the parsley and thyme with sage, and added a sprig of rosemary while simmering the broth. Everyone I served it to really loved it, but I found the salt from the prepared chicken stock to be overwhelming. I think it would be good with feta cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was good and intresting....My two year old was not a fan of it but my husband loves it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The best part of this recipe was adding my own home grown Swiss chard, parsley and lemons! A nice trick is to blend, (in a blender,) about 1/4 of the lentil soup part (before adding the chard.) Add blended part back to soup before adding chard. This makes it a bit thicker. To the soup mixture step-while sauteeing the onion and garlic ADD a teaspoon of garlic. YUM! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States