Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Recipe is great but I did a few changes, the vegetable oil I change to olive oil and the dry bulgur wheat I change to 1/2 of ground beef, the lentils I soaked it in water for one hour and then boiled it got soft. But the recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosme1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This chili was so good that I didn't miss the beef or the noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was a good start, but needed a fair bit of doctoring up to really be interesting. It also required far more water than required. Just think: lentils and bulghur need way more than 3 cups of water to cook! I would estimate that I added an additional 5 cups of water during the cook time. For extra flavor, we added ground turkey, some red wine vinegar, and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I "Doctored-up" this recipe quite a bit, however, it is a very good base for lentil soup. I used olive oil instead of veggie oil, 4 c. chicken broth, and 2 14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes (1 w/ green chilies + 1 plain) instead of the whole tomatoes. I didn't have any chili powder, so I tossed in about 1/2 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and 1/4 tsp. black pepper. My husband thought it looked a little wimpy, so I added about 7 slices of jarred hot jalapenos (minced), 2 med. chicken breasts cut into 1/2" cubes, a chicken bouillon cube (crumbled), and about 5 c. water. Even thought I cooked it about 20 min. longer than the recipe called for, the lentils were still al dente. Served it with a salad (Spring Mix, carrots, cucumbers, & tomatoes). 3 out of 4 adults eating it liked it a lot. Next time, I think I will soak the lentils before cooking, and add some sliced celery and bell peppers when I saute the onions & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was very tasty and something I'll add to my regular rotation with an "open" attitude. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and barley instead of bulgur because it's what I had. I loved the nutty taste of the lentils and barley. As others said, it needs more liquid. I am freezing the rest and will add more liquid and whatever goodies I have on hand when I need a good dinner. I also agree it would be a good crockpot meal because the lentils and grains need more than 30 minutes to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday cause I had about 2 cups of ready-to-eat lentils from Trader Joe's. I only had 8 oz of veggie broth, so I added a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes w/basil and maybe 1/2 cup of water in place of 2 cups of tomatoes and the other 2 cups of broth since the lentils were already cooked and I only needed the cup of bulgur to soak up liquid. I added another Tbs of cumin also, because I didn't have chili powder. I had some leftover pesto filled tortelini from Trader Joe's also, so I added that too. IT WAS DELICIOUS! I will make this again and again... great chili! Thank you! I know it sounds like I changed a lot, but I really didn't. I 'improvised" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It was so easy to make! I added kidneys beans too. A great meatless meal that fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious! And an awesome recipe for a new vegetarian! Like many others I pre-cooked the lentils for about 25 minutes prior to adding them to the recipe. I substituted veggie broth for chicken broth, and 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes. I also added a can of undrained pink beans to it as well. Even my husband who is a die-hard meat eater thought it tasted great, and had a wonderful *meaty* texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used half a cup of bulgur and added 2 rinsed cans of kidney beans. Upped chili to 3 T and cumin to 2 T and added a few dashes of cinnamon and a t or so of cocoa powder. Used BTB beef base. I kept thinking it was missing something so I added a can of HOT Rotel. Still missing something so I added half a can of tomato paste. That made it perfect. I steamed my lentils first, I like the texture better that way. I messed with it but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I happen to have every single ingredient available and it made a big pot. I winded up freezing the leftovers to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States