Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Delicious, hearty and nutritious!!! Very simple recipe. Served it over white rice and the family loved it. They were actually surprised when I told them there was no meat in it. My only issue was that the lentils seemed like they should have been cooked somewhat prior to making the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is a marvelous dish. I have a little suggestion for those who are a little timid around spicy foods. Instead of adding more chili powder, (which tends to overwhelm the flavor,) I suggest dicing anaheim chili peppers. One nice large crisp one is a good starter, they are very mild and extremely flavorful, I even add them to my chicken soups etc. Enjoy, and God bless. Wolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This had a very good flavour and I love that I was able to use up some of my bulgar wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was great. and healthy! even my meat loving husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great chili and a very healthy recipe. I thought it was very favorful, although I added some fresh cilantro toward the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was easy to make and very tasty (I did cut down the amount of chili powder to 1 tsp, because I don't like spicy food). However, I had to cook it for 1 full hour to get the lentils to be even slightly tender! I added the juice I had reserved from the canned tomatoes so that there would be enough liquid for the longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good. After reading the other reviews I decided to soak the lentils and the bulgar together overnight (I usually soak bulgar before I use it because it makes it more fluffy). The lentils were nice and soft when the soup was done, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent and very healthy. Like another reviewer said, it is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETBUZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this last night and loved it! In fact, I told everyone I saw today all about it. I added green peppers and cut some broth so I could add 12 oz of porter to it, which rounded out the deliciousness. Awesome chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I'm a novice cook. I found this recipe fairly easy to prepare, and the result was quite tastey. I did boil my lentils a little before (3-4 minutes) as advised in another review, but they seemed to soften quickly so I only did that a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States