Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is an excellent recipe and I highly recommend it. I like to increase the chili powder a bit to make it hotter. As a note, I have found that I need to simmer the lentils in water for 20 minutes then drain prior to making the chili otherwise they stay too firm and need much more liquid than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Best vegetarian chili I EVER had, husband loved it as well. The only thing I did different is I added 1 can of kidney beans because I love them in chili. It was superb. Thank you for this wonderful recipe which I will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed making this recipe! Like some of the other reviewers, I prepped my lentils ahead of time by boiling them for a bit before I ever started the chili. I also had to add water to the mix since the chicken stock soaked up pretty quickly, but then, that might have just been me. I like just a tiny bit of spice and the two tablespoons was plenty. It was a really easy one to make, and nice and filling as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is a marvelous dish. I have a little suggestion for those who are a little timid around spicy foods. Instead of adding more chili powder, (which tends to overwhelm the flavor,) I suggest dicing anaheim chili peppers. One nice large crisp one is a good starter, they are very mild and extremely flavorful, I even add them to my chicken soups etc. Enjoy, and God bless. Wolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is a great week night meal. Flavorful, easy and quick. I added extra cumin and topped with grated cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Not lentil chili, but just regular lentil soup but in chowder form. It was good though I needed to add a heck of a lot more ingrdients so it had flavor. I wouldn't make again because my lentil soup tasts much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is easy, affordable and very healthy. I'm adding it to my regular rotation of meals. I did need to double the liquid even though I soaked the lentils for an hour before cooking. I also added kidney beans, as another reviewer suggested, which made it seem more like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was easy to make and very tasty (I did cut down the amount of chili powder to 1 tsp, because I don't like spicy food). However, I had to cook it for 1 full hour to get the lentils to be even slightly tender! I added the juice I had reserved from the canned tomatoes so that there would be enough liquid for the longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I substituted the 2 cups of tomatoes for a 14 1/2 ounce can of petite diced tomatoes (the liquid included!) I am also watching my carbs so I substituted the bulgur wheat for 2 cups of chopped celery, and substituted the vegetable oil for olive oil. I did cook it a little while longer than the recipe called for. It was fantastic! We ate it with cornbread (it could have also been a nice side dish, or over white rice)Next time I think I will attempt to throw it in the crock-pot and see how it turns out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I have made this recipe a number of times now. This recipe takes no times to make and is a much healthier alternative to the original! I add a little grated cheese and sour cream as garnish. I will make this over and over, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States