Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I'm a novice cook. I found this recipe fairly easy to prepare, and the result was quite tastey. I did boil my lentils a little before (3-4 minutes) as advised in another review, but they seemed to soften quickly so I only did that a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this last night and loved it! In fact, I told everyone I saw today all about it. I added green peppers and cut some broth so I could add 12 oz of porter to it, which rounded out the deliciousness. Awesome chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent and very healthy. Like another reviewer said, it is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETBUZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good. After reading the other reviews I decided to soak the lentils and the bulgar together overnight (I usually soak bulgar before I use it because it makes it more fluffy). The lentils were nice and soft when the soup was done, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Delicious, hearty and nutritious!!! Very simple recipe. Served it over white rice and the family loved it. They were actually surprised when I told them there was no meat in it. My only issue was that the lentils seemed like they should have been cooked somewhat prior to making the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed making this recipe! Like some of the other reviewers, I prepped my lentils ahead of time by boiling them for a bit before I ever started the chili. I also had to add water to the mix since the chicken stock soaked up pretty quickly, but then, that might have just been me. I like just a tiny bit of spice and the two tablespoons was plenty. It was a really easy one to make, and nice and filling as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Great stuff!! Easy, healthy, and filling too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I have made this recipe a number of times now. This recipe takes no times to make and is a much healthier alternative to the original! I add a little grated cheese and sour cream as garnish. I will make this over and over, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is a great week night meal. Flavorful, easy and quick. I added extra cumin and topped with grated cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used tomato sauce instead of tomatoes, and it was fine. Mine didn't need extra time to cook, like other people said, but I did have to add extra water. It wasn't the best I've ever had, but it was good, and I was glad to find another use for bulgur! (If anybody knows any recipes that use bulgur, I'd appreciate hearing them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States