Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Best vegetarian chili I EVER had, husband loved it as well. The only thing I did different is I added 1 can of kidney beans because I love them in chili. It was superb. Thank you for this wonderful recipe which I will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Fantastic Robyn!! I made this late last night for today but after a taste, I just couldn't wait and scooped myself a midnight snack. Like another reviewer I decided to use quinoa instead of the bulgar wheat but that's just a personal choice as both work well. I'm not a fan of whole tomatoes in chili so I added tomato sauce instead and as I do with all my chili recipes, I also added black coffee and cocoa powder. A few more seasonings such as garlic and onion powders and a bit of cayenne pepper and it was the perfect bowl of chili! It doesn't get much healthier than this and I thank you Robyn for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Super duper easy, yummy, inexpensive meal. Reheats well. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and I used a little extra broth to compensate for the lack of tomato liquid. My husband is a "meat man" but inhaled his whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good ad easy. I used quinoa instead of bulgar and fresh peeled tomatoes instead of canned. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Amazingly easy and quick to make. I boiled the lentils and let them soak for about 25 minutes before I added them to the chili. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delicious. I followed the recipe, adding only celery and carrots since I felt it needed a few more veggies. Like others I enjoyed this immensely topped with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream. What a great way to sneak more lentils and bulgur into my diet =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladihawke22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great chili and a very healthy recipe. I thought it was very favorful, although I added some fresh cilantro toward the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was great. and healthy! even my meat loving husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This had a very good flavour and I love that I was able to use up some of my bulgar wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is a marvelous dish. I have a little suggestion for those who are a little timid around spicy foods. Instead of adding more chili powder, (which tends to overwhelm the flavor,) I suggest dicing anaheim chili peppers. One nice large crisp one is a good starter, they are very mild and extremely flavorful, I even add them to my chicken soups etc. Enjoy, and God bless. Wolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States