Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is really good. It required quite a bit more liquid than called for. I used 6 cups of veggie broth and used a can of tomatoes (including the liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was really good! I used barley instead of bulgur and added a can of kidney beans and some celery. I did miss having more vegetables in it so next time I'll add more celery, peppers and any other veggies I have in the fridge. Otherwise a very good, filling meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but I think you need to add a few things to make it really flavorful. I didn't have bulgar wheat; I subbed a can of corn and a can of black beans. I also added a pinch of cinnamon, and when I make this next time I will also add some bell pepper, cocoa and maybe a chipotle in adobo sauce. Oh - and definitely soak the lentils overnight before cooking. I did, and I didn't have to add extra liquid or extend the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great Recipe, I added kidney beans and ground beef to make it more a chilli dish. came out amazing. the lentils i read from other reviewers that they had to soak them overnight and cooked it for an hour. I didn't have that problem. i soaked my lentils for about 2 hrs and cooked no more than 40 minutes. it was a success. my husband loved it too. will be making it again, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great recipe! Even my 2-year old ate it. Though definitely need to boil up or soak the lentils longer than suggested. I boiled mine for 30 mins and had them in the chili on a slow cook for over 2 hours and the lentils were still a little hard. I added more veggies like carrots, celery and green peppers. It came out very well though I doubled the spices (but not the salt) as we like our food very flavorful. I also took the recommendation from another reviewer and added red kidney beans. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used pearl barley instead of the bulgur wheat and added a can of spicy beans in chili sauce. It turned out great! But did need a bit longer to cook, I left it on low after the first 30 minutes and let is simmer for about an hour. It could also use a bit more spice and I might add crushed red next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This got rave reviews from everyone who ate it. I do recommend soaking the bulgur and lentils (together) overnight and adding more stock/broth than the recipe calls for. It continued to soak up the liquid and got thicker as it stood. A little shredded cheddar, a dollop of sour cream and a squeeze of lime...perfect! Great delicious, guilt free recipe...I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this chili was. The bulger really bulks it up, giving it a more meaty texture than ordinary no-meat chili. And my three children, who normally turn their noses at anything different, ate it without a fuss. If I had to do it again, though, I would boil the lentils on thier own for a while first. It took an hour of simmering, and adding extra chicken broth, before they were tender enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
It was good but it needs beans for me to consider it chili. Next time I think I will half the lentils and bulgur wheat and add 2 can of beans. I highly recommend soaking the lentils and bulgur wheat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
One of my personal favorties and I add ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States