Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is now a regular in my house. I do have hot chili powder and half mild chili powder- lots of flavor! This time I added 3 stalks celery and I sautéed the onions and garlic in real butter. It's best to cook the lentils first as noted before doing this recipe. Fabulous! Love this and so does everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
At first I wasn't to sure about this recipe. It had a strong smell when cooking. The first few bites I wasn't a fan but the more I ate the more I enjoyed it. It was very filling. It was even better as left overs. I was a vegetarian for some time so I do enjoy meals like this as for my meat loving husband he still prefers regular chili but he did eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this last week. I think overall it turned out okay. I think next time I will lesson the amount of bular and lentils. It seemed toward the end, they were soaking up most of the liquid. I also think I will add more spices to bump up the flavor. It tasted a bit bland. Overall I will keep working with this recipe because I like the healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsamusic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
There wasn't enough liquid to cook the lentils and wheat--after half an hour of simmering, as stated, the bottom was burnt. I transferred to another pot and added 2 more cups of broth (beef, because I was out of chicken). And then I still ended up with a thick chili. So the amount of liquid is a major flaw in the recipe. The concept is delicious, though. A good base. I used a can of diced tomatoes, with the liquid, in addition to the extra broth added later. I also substituted coconut oil for vegetable and added a bit of nutmeg and coriander, and a generous sprinkle of cilantro, for a bit more complexity. I think the beef broth was a good idea, too--the bulgar wheat has a similar texture to ground beef, and beef broth gives it the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Recipe is great but I did a few changes, the vegetable oil I change to olive oil and the dry bulgur wheat I change to 1/2 of ground beef, the lentils I soaked it in water for one hour and then boiled it got soft. But the recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosme1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This chili was so good that I didn't miss the beef or the noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was a good start, but needed a fair bit of doctoring up to really be interesting. It also required far more water than required. Just think: lentils and bulghur need way more than 3 cups of water to cook! I would estimate that I added an additional 5 cups of water during the cook time. For extra flavor, we added ground turkey, some red wine vinegar, and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I "Doctored-up" this recipe quite a bit, however, it is a very good base for lentil soup. I used olive oil instead of veggie oil, 4 c. chicken broth, and 2 14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes (1 w/ green chilies + 1 plain) instead of the whole tomatoes. I didn't have any chili powder, so I tossed in about 1/2 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and 1/4 tsp. black pepper. My husband thought it looked a little wimpy, so I added about 7 slices of jarred hot jalapenos (minced), 2 med. chicken breasts cut into 1/2" cubes, a chicken bouillon cube (crumbled), and about 5 c. water. Even thought I cooked it about 20 min. longer than the recipe called for, the lentils were still al dente. Served it with a salad (Spring Mix, carrots, cucumbers, & tomatoes). 3 out of 4 adults eating it liked it a lot. Next time, I think I will soak the lentils before cooking, and add some sliced celery and bell peppers when I saute the onions & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was very tasty and something I'll add to my regular rotation with an "open" attitude. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and barley instead of bulgur because it's what I had. I loved the nutty taste of the lentils and barley. As others said, it needs more liquid. I am freezing the rest and will add more liquid and whatever goodies I have on hand when I need a good dinner. I also agree it would be a good crockpot meal because the lentils and grains need more than 30 minutes to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday cause I had about 2 cups of ready-to-eat lentils from Trader Joe's. I only had 8 oz of veggie broth, so I added a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes w/basil and maybe 1/2 cup of water in place of 2 cups of tomatoes and the other 2 cups of broth since the lentils were already cooked and I only needed the cup of bulgur to soak up liquid. I added another Tbs of cumin also, because I didn't have chili powder. I had some leftover pesto filled tortelini from Trader Joe's also, so I added that too. IT WAS DELICIOUS! I will make this again and again... great chili! Thank you! I know it sounds like I changed a lot, but I really didn't. I 'improvised" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States