Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I make this chili a couple of times a month. My fiancé absolutely loves it!! We up the chili powder and sometimes we add ground venison, but the recipe is amazing as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Love it!I did add more spices and only used a half a bulb of garlic but other than that, I didn't deviate from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Reasonably thick, healthy chili dish. I added a chopped jalapeno with some seeds to spice it up. Hearty as a main course, but you might want to cut the recipe in half since it makes a ton. Lasts all week in the fridge. I also substituted corn for the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe won the healthy chili cook off at my gym! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe. Used 2 carrots and 3 celery stalks. Increased chili powder by 1 tablespoon. Also added some frozen corn and a can of pinto beans. Toppings included crushed Fritos, chopped green onions, chopped cilantro and sliced avocado. Makes for a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and my whole family liked it including my 2 yr. old. I added another Tbsp. of chili powder and used fire roasted crushed tomatoes. I served it over rice and added shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
4 stars as written 5 stars as modified on the basis of the other reviews. Tripled the chili powder and cumin. Doubled the garlic or so.. Added a can of garbanzos, and 2 lbs of ground chuck. Browned the beef in some of the spices and then added it all to a 6qt crock pot. I needed all of the space in that crock pot. high for 2 hours then low for 4 hours. ate with cheese and chips again per another review. Although next time i may serve it over rice. Next time I make it, and there WILL be a next time, I will use some corn kernels and maybe some dried chilies. Excellent base recipies that I will throw into rotation. Although I will use 8oz of lentils so i dont have soo many leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Flexible recipe. I made lots of modifications based on what I had in the pantry and to reduce the quantity. I used 1 cup dry lentils. Instead of water, I used Veggie broth (probably about 3.5 cups). I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles instead of the crushed tomatoes. I only used about 1/3 can of tomato paste, about 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 a chopped onion. I used a package of dry chili seasoning mix (McCormick) instead of messing with all the others. It only took about 30 mins at a simmer. Served it with some cheddar cheese and fresh cilantro to brighten it up and cut the tomato flavor. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The other lentil chili is better. This one is was pretty bland and I doubled the spices. 4 cups onion!Yikes. I only went with one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is really good and I highly recommend giving it a try. I actually made mine in the slow cooker and it turned out perfect. I cooked it on high for 5 hours because I was a little short on time. The only changes I made were to use 1tsp of garlic powder instead of garlic, I am pregnant and I can not stand the smell of raw garlic right now...and I also used 1 qt of chicken broth and 1 qt of water. As for the spices I used a little more than the measurements given here. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States