Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is, without a doubt, some of the BEST chili ever! I've made this for our family, as well as two potlucks. There wasn't a drop left at the potlucks! Kids and adults both were eating it up and getting seconds. (I like to spice it up a bit more, but when I am cooking for a crowd I keep it right as the recipe and put a bottle of chipotle tabasco next to the the pot.) I've had several people who tell me that they "don't like lentils" try this and love it. I've given the recipe out many times! This is a regular now in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I followed recipe exactly and was so surprised...with that much onion and garlic it had a delicate taste. I added some cayenne pepper. Next time I will add more spices and more veggies, but this is a great base. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Easy to make and a great way to use lentils. Very inexpensive meal! However, it needed some salt and pepper added. Also - I added some ground turkey - it was delicious, healthy and made great left overs. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I love this recipe, Everyone in my family loves this recipe. I only gave this 4 stars because of the lack of spice. I have made this a few times the first time I made per the recipe. I only made that mistake once. All the other times I have made this I have used 3-4 Table spoons of Tastefully Simple Wahoo Chili seasoning and blend! It turns out great and everyone wants seconds. FYI this chili freezes great and even tastes better the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe, but I don't like cooked carrots and my bf doesn't like celery so I substituted corn and small cubed potatos. This might sound weird, but it was really tasty and gave the chili a little more volume. It gave me a great excuse to cook my red lentils! I would also say that (being born in Texas and having a deep love of spicy things) if you want a spicy dish you REALLY have to amp up the spice. I used about triple the chili powder and cayenne pepper and red pepper and black pepper than the recipe calls for. I tasted it after initially putting in my spices and couldn't taste anything but the tomato. Still the base of the recipe was a great idea; I'll certainly be cooking it again. Note: add a good crusty, warm french bread for a real homey/happy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmeadville

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Liked this alot, but it is only a side dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I gave this a four since it came out WAY too bland without extra spices - I also added in Tomato Sauce and some barbecue sauce as well and let it cook about 45 minutes longer so all ingredients could blend together. It makes A lot - great to freeze or for a crowd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
add green bell pepper, kidney beans, hell of a lot more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty chili! I made it with cayenne pepper instead ( did not have chili powder ) and added tomato bouillion with chicken flavor. This was a flavorful chili! Do not skimp on the garlic!!! I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very tasty. I never had lentils before this recipe. I goofed when making it, however, and used the big (29 oz) cans of tomato sauce and crushed tomato because my sister wouldn't shut up and I couldn't concentrate. Anyhow, I am glad to have the extra tomato because it is still pretty thick (no liquid residue in a bowl of it). I did add more seasonings (packet of chili seasoning) to temper the tomato. Overall this recipe is very good - my mom and husband both love it. Also I used one of the other reviewers' tips and ate it with tortilla chips and MMMmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States