Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Prep is easy, setting up this dish to cooking is VERY easy, reading all the reviews: scary... Currently cooking this "chili" and when I told my husband I used chili powder in the lentils, he got very nervous.. And I am nervous... And I read all the reviews and have already doubled all the spices, and added garlic powder, onion powder and celery salt! I also added Sriracha Chili Sauce because someone recommended this (and I had it) We LOVE chili, we love lentils, we love hot... Fingers crossed.. Doubled the carrots and celery too... Will update when its done..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solacina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was surprisingly good. We topped it with chopped avocado, sour cream and some tortilla chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great base chili, I did add corn & extra spices. It was very bland without the extras even with all that garlic. But it's kinda nice to have a good base recipe you can put your own spin on. I love the idea of substituting lentils for beef. We aren't vegetarians but we are trying to get away from the idea that we have to eat meat 7 nights a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aksilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great, IF you modify it by adding more spices. I suggest using 1/4 cup chili powder and 2 tbsp ground cumin, I also suggest dicing up a japapeno including seeds if you like it medium warm. Bon apetit y'all. Finally, a can of corn, just before serving is a nice addition, the chili purists may groan, but heck... We are talkin' LENTIL chili here boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was pretty easy to make, freezes well and almost tastes better as left overs! Its also pretty easy to keep the ingredients around so you can throw it together when you're out of ideas. My husband gave it a 9 out of 10, which is great considering he doesn't like leftovers. I added a little Chipotle chilli powder which added a little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I think this would be a great soup if you follow some of the other reviewers suggestions for spices. For us, it had too many lentils, which caused lots of indigestion. ;-) If I made it again, I would change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Added lots of spices, but great soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This Chili is awesome! I used 5 cups of carrots and celery, 6 cups of onions, I green pepper, 1/2 cup of radish, 3 jalapenos, 1 cup of wild rice. I thought that I had added enough spice, but not enough for our liken. I recommend 6 jalapenos and a tablespoon of Sriracha Hot Sauce. Extra red pepper! Very filling, didn't notice meat was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very good! I double the spices because I like things spicy. I may have cooked it too long, the lentils ended up mushy and broke down to almost moosh. Again, my fault. Aside from the texture it was very good. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I did not enjoy this very much. I took into account all the suggestions others left and added more spices. It still lacked taste. Some seemed to enjoy this so it probably is just a matter of what you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States