Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Love it!I did add more spices and only used a half a bulb of garlic but other than that, I didn't deviate from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Reasonably thick, healthy chili dish. I added a chopped jalapeno with some seeds to spice it up. Hearty as a main course, but you might want to cut the recipe in half since it makes a ton. Lasts all week in the fridge. I also substituted corn for the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe won the healthy chili cook off at my gym! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe. Used 2 carrots and 3 celery stalks. Increased chili powder by 1 tablespoon. Also added some frozen corn and a can of pinto beans. Toppings included crushed Fritos, chopped green onions, chopped cilantro and sliced avocado. Makes for a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and my whole family liked it including my 2 yr. old. I added another Tbsp. of chili powder and used fire roasted crushed tomatoes. I served it over rice and added shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
4 stars as written 5 stars as modified on the basis of the other reviews. Tripled the chili powder and cumin. Doubled the garlic or so.. Added a can of garbanzos, and 2 lbs of ground chuck. Browned the beef in some of the spices and then added it all to a 6qt crock pot. I needed all of the space in that crock pot. high for 2 hours then low for 4 hours. ate with cheese and chips again per another review. Although next time i may serve it over rice. Next time I make it, and there WILL be a next time, I will use some corn kernels and maybe some dried chilies. Excellent base recipies that I will throw into rotation. Although I will use 8oz of lentils so i dont have soo many leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Flexible recipe. I made lots of modifications based on what I had in the pantry and to reduce the quantity. I used 1 cup dry lentils. Instead of water, I used Veggie broth (probably about 3.5 cups). I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles instead of the crushed tomatoes. I only used about 1/3 can of tomato paste, about 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 a chopped onion. I used a package of dry chili seasoning mix (McCormick) instead of messing with all the others. It only took about 30 mins at a simmer. Served it with some cheddar cheese and fresh cilantro to brighten it up and cut the tomato flavor. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The other lentil chili is better. This one is was pretty bland and I doubled the spices. 4 cups onion!Yikes. I only went with one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is really good and I highly recommend giving it a try. I actually made mine in the slow cooker and it turned out perfect. I cooked it on high for 5 hours because I was a little short on time. The only changes I made were to use 1tsp of garlic powder instead of garlic, I am pregnant and I can not stand the smell of raw garlic right now...and I also used 1 qt of chicken broth and 1 qt of water. As for the spices I used a little more than the measurements given here. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Omitted celery and reduced spices to the taste of our household (I see that some reviewers actually increased the spices!). Most of household loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States