Lentil Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made it all in the food processor which was simple and easy. However, due to an extremely fussy eater in our household, I had to process it until smooth. I also had to add well over an extra cup of rice crumbs (substituted for bread crumbs) because it was very soft. As a result of the over processing, it was grainy and soft. The taste was a little bland but it was definitely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Tried to follow to the letter, but I didn't have bell pepper, so substituted some sautéed mushrooms and carrots; also sautéed the onions. Probably should have squeezed out the lentils and veggies, because I wound up having to add a lot of breadcrumbs to get the patties to hold together. But once I did that, they cooked up beautifully! This is such a versatile and forgiving recipe - I will be playing with different seasonings and veg in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was a great starter recipe. I had to add more egg to get the patty to hold together and seasoned like crazy. I didn't even know where to start and this recipe definitely got me going in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These were good added way more veggies and seasonings would prob skip the corneal and possibly skip the frying if I try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Very tasty. The patties were a bit dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Really drain the lentils. I added garlic and a bunch of seasonings to it as well. Very delicious. My Aunt's bf asked what kind of meat was in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2Twinkies1Cupcake
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I altered the recipe so much, I may as well create my own recipe to upload. But I used this as a basis to create my own lentil burgers, because I wanted to have a cheap, healthy lunch on hand and also because I am trying to eat less meat. I added chopped garlic to mine, and some various spices I had on hand (adobo seasoning, garlic salt, even a sprinkling of poultry seasoning, I was just afraid of bland tasteless beans so I threw in a lot). I also did not add the shredded mozzarella cheese because I wanted to top my burgers with a slice of cheddar (or something more flavorful than mozz) instead. I did not process the beans, instead I put them all in a dishrag and squeezed all the water out, which really helps prevent mushy burgers. And lastly, I did not dredge mine in cornmeal, I just pan-fried in olive oil instead to create a nice crunch, you can see in my picture the great crust I ended up with. Oh one more thing, I made up a bunch of patties, laid them on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer. One frozen, I put them all in a ziploc bag, and now I have my own veggie burgers on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I have actually been making this for years adapted from the exact same recipe! Its awesome!!! However, I do make it with a few changed sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, plain panko breadcrumbs, jalapeno pepper instead of bell and I do not use cornmeal (though I will try the cornmeal next time) I also add about a tsp (or so) of Sambal Oelek (we like things spicy). I also serve with spicy mayo made with Sambal Oelek mixed with light miracle whip. Awesome that you added this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States