Lentil Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Better than expected although I might as well have made a new recipe. I didn't know how many lentils to use for 2.5 cups cooked, so I used way too much and doubled the recipe. I accidentally added the oil and cornmeal to the 'burger' mix, and I ended up baking them instead of frying. 400 degrees for 20 minutes, flipped half way through. Pretty darn tasty still, I was surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made it all in the food processor which was simple and easy. However, due to an extremely fussy eater in our household, I had to process it until smooth. I also had to add well over an extra cup of rice crumbs (substituted for bread crumbs) because it was very soft. As a result of the over processing, it was grainy and soft. The taste was a little bland but it was definitely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Tried to follow to the letter, but I didn't have bell pepper, so substituted some sautéed mushrooms and carrots; also sautéed the onions. Probably should have squeezed out the lentils and veggies, because I wound up having to add a lot of breadcrumbs to get the patties to hold together. But once I did that, they cooked up beautifully! This is such a versatile and forgiving recipe - I will be playing with different seasonings and veg in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was a great starter recipe. I had to add more egg to get the patty to hold together and seasoned like crazy. I didn't even know where to start and this recipe definitely got me going in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These were good added way more veggies and seasonings would prob skip the corneal and possibly skip the frying if I try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Very tasty. The patties were a bit dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Really drain the lentils. I added garlic and a bunch of seasonings to it as well. Very delicious. My Aunt's bf asked what kind of meat was in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2Twinkies1Cupcake
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I altered the recipe so much, I may as well create my own recipe to upload. But I used this as a basis to create my own lentil burgers, because I wanted to have a cheap, healthy lunch on hand and also because I am trying to eat less meat. I added chopped garlic to mine, and some various spices I had on hand (adobo seasoning, garlic salt, even a sprinkling of poultry seasoning, I was just afraid of bland tasteless beans so I threw in a lot). I also did not add the shredded mozzarella cheese because I wanted to top my burgers with a slice of cheddar (or something more flavorful than mozz) instead. I did not process the beans, instead I put them all in a dishrag and squeezed all the water out, which really helps prevent mushy burgers. And lastly, I did not dredge mine in cornmeal, I just pan-fried in olive oil instead to create a nice crunch, you can see in my picture the great crust I ended up with. Oh one more thing, I made up a bunch of patties, laid them on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer. One frozen, I put them all in a ziploc bag, and now I have my own veggie burgers on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I have actually been making this for years adapted from the exact same recipe! Its awesome!!! However, I do make it with a few changed sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, plain panko breadcrumbs, jalapeno pepper instead of bell and I do not use cornmeal (though I will try the cornmeal next time) I also add about a tsp (or so) of Sambal Oelek (we like things spicy). I also serve with spicy mayo made with Sambal Oelek mixed with light miracle whip. Awesome that you added this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States