Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I've looked for a favorite lentil soup recipe for years and this is it! I use 4 Boca Smoked Sausages browned in a little oil and thinly sliced, and I add a little more cabbage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
We didn't have any onions (ran out) or cabbage on hand, so I made this with carrots, celery, and some red bell pepper in their place. This came out absolutely delicious. We sprinkled a little grated Romano on top, which made it even better. I used Andouille chicken sausages. This was an awesome variation on our usual lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy! We varied this a bit, though. We used 4 cups of chicken stock, Healthy Choice smoked sausage, and cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp. Great soup for a chilly winter day and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used turkey smoked sausage and didn't have head cabbage, but used a portion of a bag of 3-color slaw I had (which is mostly shredded cabbage anyway). I used half the cayenne and it was still plenty spicy for my taste and petite diced tomatoes. Hearty, good soup...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Loved this recipe!! Received this in my inbox yesterday morning, went to the store at lunch, ran home put everything in the crock pot, turned it on high, had hot soup ready when I got have from work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gerber, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it was amazing! I dont have much to say, I just really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe, my husband and I loved it. I used a pork garlic sausage instead of a vegetarian one and it was great.I would recomend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
WOW!!!! This might be my new favorite soup! It's a toss up between Italian Sausage Soup and this one. My soup hating husband even said he'd try it next time I made it because it smelled so good! The only change I made was to use kielbasa instead of the vegetarian sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Delicious, restaurant-quality soup. My husband was astounded by how great this soup tasted, and how little time it took to prepare. He said that he had a soup like this just the other day at a five-star restaurant that had andouille sausage in it instead. So next time, I might substitute the turkey sausage that I used for andouille sausage. Also, if you don't like your food too spicy, I'd say forgo on the cayenne pepper, and just add more garlic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I used Healthy Choice sausage, but left everything else the same. Very good! My husband ate 3 large bowls and I had 1 bowl - it was gone FAST! If you have small children I recommend using less Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States