Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Throw everything into a crock pot. That's what I did and it came out wonderful. The only only only difference is that I used 6 cups of chicken stock vs the 4 cups water and 2 bouillon cubes and 2 cups of shredded cabbage. We came home to delicious hearty soup thick soup. P.S I didn't even saute anything ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used turkey smoked sausage and didn't have head cabbage, but used a portion of a bag of 3-color slaw I had (which is mostly shredded cabbage anyway). I used half the cayenne and it was still plenty spicy for my taste and petite diced tomatoes. Hearty, good soup...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy! We varied this a bit, though. We used 4 cups of chicken stock, Healthy Choice smoked sausage, and cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp. Great soup for a chilly winter day and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I've looked for a favorite lentil soup recipe for years and this is it! I use 4 Boca Smoked Sausages browned in a little oil and thinly sliced, and I add a little more cabbage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Fantastic recipe to use as a guide; easy to customize. A keeper! I suggest eliminating the boullion cubes. Use instead 4 cups of broth as a substitute for the cubes and water... it works wonderfully. If you don't care about it being vegetarian, I suggest using (Mexican) chorizo sausage in place of vegetarian "sausage" (another hideously artifical invention). Chorizo worked great (cook it first and add at the end) and made it super spicy! If you want vegetarian soup, add an extra cup of onion for body and leave out the veggie sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVER13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
WOW!!!! This might be my new favorite soup! It's a toss up between Italian Sausage Soup and this one. My soup hating husband even said he'd try it next time I made it because it smelled so good! The only change I made was to use kielbasa instead of the vegetarian sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Loved this recipe!! Received this in my inbox yesterday morning, went to the store at lunch, ran home put everything in the crock pot, turned it on high, had hot soup ready when I got have from work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gerber, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe, my husband and I loved it. I used a pork garlic sausage instead of a vegetarian one and it was great.I would recomend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was great soup. I did make some changes. I used turkey sausage, added carrots and I didn't have any cabbage so I used brussles sprouts. Very yummy and quite filling. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I liked this soup, and my boyfriend loved it. He said it was as good as the chicken tortilla soup recipe we found on allrecipes and I think that soup is one of the best ever. Anyways, I made the recipe as is, except for that I added a little sugar to compliment the tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States