Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
My mother & I love this soup! I used Hillshire Farms Smoked Turkey Sausage, canned chicken broth, & 1/2 the amount of cayenne pepper. I'll have to make a double bath next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. It lends itself to many variations (vegetarian/meat sausage and stock/boullion). You can make it as a thick stew or a thinner soup, spicy or not, and can experiment with other ingredients and proportions. I've used kielbasa, smoked sausage, and linguica (precooked). I've used turkey, chicken, and beef better-than-boullion. I use more vegetables than the recipe calls for, and less tomato (I don't buy 16 oz. cans), I use Pico de Gallo seasoning in it instead of cayenne, and I don't use salt and pepper, preferring to allow the individul to season their own serving. Basically, as long as you add enough liquid to cook the lentils, it's hard to go wrong. We really love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is a fast and tasty soup. I didn't have cabbage - which I think would have been really good. Anyway, I added carrots and celery instead. I also used mild Italian sausage. I think it would have been great wity spicy sausage, but my kids would not have eaten it. It's a hearty soup with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a great soup! I used chicken broth in place of the vegetable bouillon and chicken sausage instead of the vegetarian sausage. Also cut back on the thyme & cayenne for my taste. Rave reviews from my husband and even from my daughter who is not usually enthusiastic about lentils. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was the best Lentil Soup recipe I have ever had. But I cheated. I used Chicken/Turkey sausage with Sun Dried tomatoes. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This is a fantastic soup that I have been making for a while. I have thrown in celery, chorizo and even used saurkraut instead of the cabbage once. It is an incredibly flexible recipe which will carry off whatever you have lying about in your fridge / pantry. I usually use turkey sausage and have to increase the water quite a bit, otherwise it would come out too thick and stewy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I used Healthy Choice sausage, but left everything else the same. Very good! My husband ate 3 large bowls and I had 1 bowl - it was gone FAST! If you have small children I recommend using less Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was tasty! However, I did add a 1/4 tsp. of basil and a 1/4 tsp. of oregano in order to quiet the pungent taste of thyme. I too added shredded Parmesan on top of each bowl of soup once I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I doubled the lentils and water, and I used a cup of cabbage. I used one sweet italian chicken sausage and one hot italian chicken sausage that I broiled ahead of time then cut into chunks. My wife and I loved this and there was enough to feed two of us twice. Plus I froze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was delicious! I used turkey kielbasa instead of vegetarian sausage. I only used 14 1/2 oz. diced tomatoes because this is the size of a regular can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States