Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this however in the crockpot and I used real smoked sausage made with pork and beef. The soup was more like a stew and it wouldn't have turned out a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Marie
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really like this soup! I used regular smoked sausage and I also added strips of green pepper and a little less cayenne pepper. I also added 1/4 tsp of oregano and 1/4 tsp of basil. YUMMY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clairdeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My family really enjoys this recipe. We are not vegetarians, so we use regular smoked sausage. I also generally subsitute ham base for the vegetable base. I have made the recipe without the sausage to make it very economical and that works really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used fresh thyme, Emeril's chicken sausages, and a bit more garlic.This is a husband and kid pleaser for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I didn't make this vegetarian, using smoked turkey sausage instead. I waited until about 10/15 minutes before serving to add the cabbage so it retained some of it's texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! Great meal on a cold night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a really good starting point. I used 16oz of lentils doubled all the spices and then added some more and when I couldn't get the taste "just right" I used my last resort and dumped in a package of Lipton onion soup mix...and it was perfect. I also wouldn't add the sausage next time...it really didn't add anything. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is a yummy soup. I didn't have tomato can, so I chopped 2 fresh tomato and added like 2-3 spoons of tomamto paste in it. I used turkey sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This soup is really filling and has a comfort food feel to it. My grocery store did not have meatless sausage, but to keep it on the lite side I used Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage. I tripled the amount of shredded cabbage, doubled the thyme and cayenne pepper. I found the liquid needed to be increased as well. My husband went back for seconds and plans to take it for lunch tomorrow. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was yummy - I followed some suggestions and made my own additions: used small french lentils instead of regular and the 4 cups chicken broth instead of 2 cups water and bouillon cubes. I increased cabbage to 1 cup, and sliced very thinly instead of shredding finely. Used 1/2 smoked turkey sausage coil, 1/2 turnip diced, 4 baby carrots sliced, Herbes de Provence instead of thyme, red Mexican chili pepper because I had no cayenne, added some Hungarian paprika, and 1 Bay leaf. Everyone liked it. Meant to add some chopped Swiss chard but forgot. Will add it to the leftovers tomorrow - that should make it even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States