Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I wasn't sure how I felt about lentils, but I thought this was delicious! Even more surprising- my boyfriend loved it! We doubled the recipe so it would last a couple days (we also froze the leftovers, which held up very well). We are meat eaters, but wanted to try making this vegetarian used Field Roast veggie sausages (found at Whole Foods, recommended to us by our vegetarian friends), which were surprisingly delicious. We used the Mexican Chipotle flavor, which were very spicy, so we halved the cayenne (and we like spice!). The only other change was to add 2-3 times as much cabbage as called for- it's so good for you (and yummy)!. Thanks for a great recipe that will be added to our vegetarian collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great! I added garlic and onion powders, cumin and smoked paprika for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I have tweaked it a bit to suit us: turkey sausage instead of vegetarian use chicken broth instead of water/bouillon I use about 2x as much cabbage I use half the cayenne pepper, and add about 1/2 teaspoon of Paprika Served with homemade cornbread - so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Great! So easy and very tasty. I threw everything in the crockpot for a few hours and it turned out awesome. Also used Turkey sausage instead of vegetarian. According to MY taste, it also needed quite a bit of salt. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Love this recipe, even crave it!! The kind of sausage makes a big difference in flavor, you might have to try different ones. Great freezing leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was tasty. I made it according to the recipe except for the Smoked Sausage was not veggie. I thought it was easy and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Wow! This was soooo goood. Is has that robust flavor that you usually don't get until it's been sitting in your fridge overnight. And it was so EASY! I love that. FYI, I used Turkey Sausage and leftover red onion, and then topped of individual bowls with a squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow- this was fantastic! I didn't have any cabbage, and subbed healthy choice smoked sausage for the veg sausage, but other than that (and letting the soup simmer for a few hours) I kept to the recipe. Its even better after it has set for a day or two to develop the flavors. This recipe is a keeper- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this however in the crockpot and I used real smoked sausage made with pork and beef. The soup was more like a stew and it wouldn't have turned out a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Marie
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really like this soup! I used regular smoked sausage and I also added strips of green pepper and a little less cayenne pepper. I also added 1/4 tsp of oregano and 1/4 tsp of basil. YUMMY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clairdeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States